We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem!”
Review of Bookworks

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bookworks
Ranked #14 of 99 Shopping in Albuquerque
Attraction details
Carlsbad, NM
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Worth the search to find this independent bookstore! The staff is knowledgeable and friendly! A must go for book lovers!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank liblady1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Neighborhood bookstore, community oriented, great children's hour!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My children, ages 2 and 4, and I attended our first Bookworks children's hour last week, held Thursdays at 10:30 am. It was delightfully organized! The theme was feet and toes, so all the books had a reference to this, like Dr. Seuss' The Foot Book, for example. Overall, the leader read about 5 - 6 books. There was also a craft and a snack! We all had a great time.

We buy all our children's books here. It's a fun place to browse.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travels_with_kids_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Village of Los Ranchos
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not your mega place, BUT indeed”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Your old fashioned, down home, floor to ceiling, wall-to-wall bookstore with, every time I've visited, a great staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A real bookstore!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I love Bookworks! When you walk in, you are immediately surrounded by shelves & shelves of books. It smells like books! There plenty to look at & I always go home with a couple interesting reads. Most of all, I love that Bookworks supports the local community with a number of events, including book clubs & signings. Overall, a very cool, small, local store. Can't beat local!

Helpful?
1 Thank Christy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Independent Bookstore in the Southwest”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Don't miss this wonderful store, both for books, but also the best cards, gifts, etc. it is in a very hip shopping center with other great stores and an outdoorsy crowd at the Flying Star restaurant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalieystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bookworks also viewed

 

Been to Bookworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing