We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time, professional and friendly pilot!”
Review of Rainbow Ryders

Rainbow Ryders
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Experience of a Lifetime Happening Right Now!" Rainbow Ryders Inc. Hot Air Balloon Company is proudly celebrating over 35 years of flight experience. Offering hot air balloon rides first thing in the morning at sunrise year round, and sunset flights in the winter months. Enjoy your hour long flight over the beautiful Rio Grande Valley, upon landing you will be welcomed back to the ground with a celebratory toast and a light continental breakfast as you are presented your commemorative flight certificate. We have proudly flown over 170,000 passengers and are the official balloon ride operator of the Worlds Largest Balloon Event. Flying in PHOENIX, LAS VEGAS, and ALBUQUERQUE year-round, and seasonally in COLORADO SPRINGS!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went up early morning with other couples. Pilot and crew were very friendly and outgoing. We touched down in the rio grande and got some amazing scenery. Smooth ride and landing. Amazing ride with this company would definitely do it again!!!

Thank 505gabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"balloon ride"
in 247 reviews
"hot air balloon"
in 124 reviews
"champagne toast"
in 108 reviews
"bucket list"
in 197 reviews
"rio grande"
in 116 reviews
"balloon fiesta"
in 137 reviews
"pilot dean"
in 43 reviews
"ground crew"
in 49 reviews
"chase crew"
in 43 reviews
"sunrise flight"
in 19 reviews
"launch site"
in 39 reviews
"great pilot"
in 31 reviews
"experienced pilot"
in 16 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 40 reviews
"soft landing"
in 13 reviews
"great company"
in 16 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 32 reviews
Filter

1,125 - 1,129 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I went ballooning with Rainbow Ryders back in November 2012 while visiting good friends in Albuquerque. We showed up at the office in the dark and were greeted by plenty of staff there to assist us with paperwork and getting on our proper van shuttle. Once at the field we all enjoyed watching the process unfold as the balloons were laid out and blown up, and then loaded into the baskets for one of the most peaceful, beautiful experiences of my life. The pilot was nice and informative, but also respected the quiet nature of our trip and did not talk the entire time. We floated over a good portion of the northern half of town and especially enjoyed our track over the Rio Grande River corridor. Once back on the ground the staff collapsed the balloon and then asked us to step in and help out by placing packing straps and then stuffing the balloon back in its sack. It was neat to feel like a part of it all! Afterward we went to a local park to toast to our trip with champagne and some snacks. While the breakfast items were nothing to write home about, the short talk about the history of ballooning and significance of the champagne toast were a great way to end the trip. Rainbow Ryders is a very professional company with employees who are passionate about hot air ballooning. Highly recommended!

Thank blindst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a glowing review of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The first time we had to reschedule due to weather, but the second attempt was successful. We were celebrating my husband's birthday so we happy to do something a little out of the ordinary. I loved being warmed by the hot air even though it smells of propane. We floated over the Rio Grande and observed the wildlife and trees from above. We had a beautiful morning and could see the mountains around Albuquerque very clearly. We landed in a golf course and then went to have our champange in a park nearby. It was definitely worth the wait.

Thank Wolfgang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We are so glad that we could make your husband's birthday 'special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I went up with several friends in October 2011 (not 2012 but the site doesn't allow me to check off past that) and we all had a wonderful time. The weather had been perfect that day and I got some gorgeous photos. The views of the valley, mountains, and the mesa were spectacular. People on the ground would see us and wave. Helping at the end (folding up the envelope), was a great hands on experience. No one forced us to help either, some people didn't want to, and no one pestered them to get moving, they were simply allowed to watch. Our pilot was nice, he had about 30 years experience so we felt like we were in very good hands. He took a picture with us at the end too. :) I would totally do this again!!!

1  Thank LocalFoodie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking time to send us an amazing response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My sister treated me to a balloon ride with the Rainbow Ryders a while back. We were the second group to go up, so we rode in the chase vehicle tracking the balloon until they landed and it was our turn to go. The staff were friendly and helpful as I have some physical difficulties that had to be accommodated. They managed me and my health problem with courtesy and grace. We had a fantastic ride and ended the day with a champagne toast.

Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We are so glad that you a wonderful experience. we are always committed to make sure that we can accommodate just about anybody who wants to join us for an experience of a life time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Ryders also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Ryders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing