We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Activity EVER”
Review of Rainbow Ryders

Rainbow Ryders
Book In Advance
More Info
$159.00*
and up
Albuquerque Hot Air Balloon Ride at Sunrise
More Info
$209.00*
and up
Albuquerque Hot Air Balloon Ride at Sunset
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Experience of a Lifetime Happening Right Now!" Rainbow Ryders Inc. Hot AIr Balloon Company is proudly celebrating 30 years of flight experience. Offering hot air balloon rides first thing in the morning at sunrise year round and sunset flights in the winter months. Enjoy your hour long flight over the beautiful Rio Grande Valley, upon landing you will be welcomed back to the ground with a celebratory toast and a light continental breakfast as you are presented your commemorative flight certificate. We have proudly flown over 170,000 passengers and are the official balloon ride operator of the Worlds Largest Balloon Event. Flying in PHOENIX and ALBUQUERQUE year round!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
MA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Activity EVER”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you have never gone up in a hot air balloon, you NEED to make this a priority! This was one of the best experiences of my life. We went for a ride during the International Balloon Fiesta, and the views of all the other balloons, plus the sunrise, plus the scenery made for a fairy-tale like experience. I never felt motion sick, or afraid for my life. The ride was smooth, comfortable, and overall amazing. :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Glad you had the best vacation experience ever. Thanks for leaving your response. Until we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,024
    71
    18
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our family had always wanted to fly in a hot air balloon and we could not think of a better place to do it than in New Mexico. Our pilot, Brooke, was funny, experienced, and knowledgeable about what we were seeing. Our experience was made even better by the celebration at the end of the trip. I would definitely recommend this! We did the sunset trip and it was a nice way to end a cold winter day. It was actually warmer up at 1800 feet than on the ground.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ihavemypassportready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are ecstatic that you and your family enjoyed the flight! Thanks for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive but Worth every penny”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Reserved a ride for my sister when she visited for Balloon Fiesta.
She LOVED every minute. Couldn't wipe the smile off of her face for the entire day. It was all she talked about. Great pilot and ride!!

Helpful?
Thank NMtravelerNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are excited to hear your sister enjoyed her balloon fiesta flight with us. Costs definitely go up for those nine days. This is due to overwhelming demand and limited space. We love what we do and fiesta is by far our favorite time of year. The experience is phenomenal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The pilot was kind, funny and informative. The flight was beautiful with a safe, easy landing! The cost was reasonable as well. I recommend their services without hesitation!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTechsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We strive for excellence and are so pleased that we were able to provide you a wonderful experience. Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Sunrise Balloon Ride”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was a great adventure. Would have been nice to do more than float over to the city. We did get over the Rio Grande for a bit, but maybe to the mountains or the petroglyphs would have been nicer. The crew were great, informative! We did have a minor traffic accident while in the van when a car ran into the back of the trailer and caused us a bit of delay, but the crew handled it nicely and we stopped in the park and had champagne and snacks while waiting for police who never showed up.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a response. Your comments are helpful in us being able to provide the best possible experience we can. We are glad that the experience for you was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rainbow Ryders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing