We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but Worth every penny”
Review of Rainbow Ryders

Rainbow Ryders
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$209.00*
and up
Albuquerque Hot Air Balloon Ride at Sunrise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Experience of a Lifetime Happening Right Now!" Rainbow Ryders Inc. Hot AIr Balloon Company is proudly celebrating 30 years of flight experience. Offering hot air balloon rides first thing in the morning at sunrise year round and sunset flights in the winter months. Enjoy your hour long flight over the beautiful Rio Grande Valley, upon landing you will be welcomed back to the ground with a celebratory toast and a light continental breakfast as you are presented your commemorative flight certificate. We have proudly flown over 170,000 passengers and are the official balloon ride operator of the Worlds Largest Balloon Event. Flying in PHOENIX and ALBUQUERQUE year round!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive but Worth every penny”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Reserved a ride for my sister when she visited for Balloon Fiesta.
She LOVED every minute. Couldn't wipe the smile off of her face for the entire day. It was all she talked about. Great pilot and ride!!

Helpful?
Thank NMtravelerNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are excited to hear your sister enjoyed her balloon fiesta flight with us. Costs definitely go up for those nine days. This is due to overwhelming demand and limited space. We love what we do and fiesta is by far our favorite time of year. The experience is phenomenal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    70
    18
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The pilot was kind, funny and informative. The flight was beautiful with a safe, easy landing! The cost was reasonable as well. I recommend their services without hesitation!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTechsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We strive for excellence and are so pleased that we were able to provide you a wonderful experience. Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
429 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Sunrise Balloon Ride”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was a great adventure. Would have been nice to do more than float over to the city. We did get over the Rio Grande for a bit, but maybe to the mountains or the petroglyphs would have been nicer. The crew were great, informative! We did have a minor traffic accident while in the van when a car ran into the back of the trailer and caused us a bit of delay, but the crew handled it nicely and we stopped in the park and had champagne and snacks while waiting for police who never showed up.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a response. Your comments are helpful in us being able to provide the best possible experience we can. We are glad that the experience for you was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exhilarating experience”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I went on my first hot air balloon ride with the Rainbow Ryders, and it was an unforgettable experience. The scenery was excellent, and the staff was friendly, punctual and professional. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We are so excited to hear you had a fantastic flight with us! We love what we do. Rainbow Ryders is committed to the best experience out there. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge us. Come back and join u again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Terribly overcrowded balloon ride”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Went on a balloon ride using a Groupon on a Saturday in Spring. The balloon basket was packed so tightly with people that it was impossible to move and many people in the center really did not get much of a view at all. It's important to note that there is no "door" or gate on these baskets, so one must hoist oneself up over the sides which are about four feet high. They provide a little box to stand on to get in, but there's no help or step up for getting out (I guess that would take up room they can cram one more person into). Some older people had lots of trouble with this and I threw my back out jumping to the ground from the basket -- very painful. I understand that Rainbow Ryders would want to maximize their revenue for each trip, but when they pack SO MANY people in, it really diminishes the enjoyment of the ride and makes boarding and disembarking more hazardous. Also, the champagne breakfast that was supposed to be part of the trip was really just a small amount of champagne and a few cellophane-wrapped vending machine-type danishes. Maybe all NM balloon ride companies are this lame, but I'd look around a bit before taking a ride with this one.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank nabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowRyders1, Manager at Rainbow Ryders, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Rainbow Ryders is committed to the highest standards in our industry. We want to ensure a pleasurable experience each and every time. Our balloon baskets are built to hold a certain number of passengers depending on balloon size. We cannot overload our baskets beyond their capacities. Balloon flights are done in close quarters as the baskets are compact in size. Every passenger has a set of handles for landing. This is how we determine how many passengers we can carry. Hot air ballooning is a physical and interactive adventure experience. We inform every passenger of the physical requirements necessary to take a flight. This is including climbing into a four foot basket as well as hopping out. This is all listed on our website as well. There are staggered foot holes in every basket for stepping up into and down out of the basket. Our breakfast and champagne is a light and complimentary snack. Our sunset flights include light cheese and fruit platters along with complimentary champagne. We take every opportunity to provide a safe, consistent, and memorable experience on every flight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Ryders also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Ryders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing