We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice”

ABQ BioPark Aquarium
Ranked #24 of 222 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Cruces, NM
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

You can be in and out of here in 1/2 hour, probably no more than 1 hr. It is a small aquarium but very nice. The attractions are very interesting. They have a lot of native fish to New Mexico which was cool to see. Their sting ray display was great! And the shark attraction was fantastic. But as I was standing by the exit door I heard person after person saying, "that is it???" Meaning, it is a very small aquarium but since it is part of the biopark and you can get a combo ticket to also enjoy the zoo and botanic gardens, it is a nice place to go with the kids that won't be too overwhelming. My son loved it!!

Helpful?
1 Thank newfamilytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierna R, Public Relations Manager at ABQ BioPark Aquarium, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback and a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us at the ABQ BioPark. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    133
    103
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A must see! Incredible value and so much fun!”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We were not sure what to expect- what with the mixed reviews. The price was incredible for the combined entry to the Aquarium and the Biological Gardens. We would have gone to the Zoo also but we didn't have time. Once inside the Aquarium we encountered an employee or volunteer at every corner telling us interesting tidbits of info about the species or particular creatures. "This Sting ray likes to be petted, that turtle is named so and so and was injured by fisherman", etc.. It was incredible! I was so impressed by the aquarium, the entry fee and the service that we received that we plan to go back year after year.

Helpful?
1 Thank chaosink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierna R, Public Relations Manager at ABQ BioPark Aquarium, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and leave the ABQ BioPark Aquarium a review.We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at our facility and we hope to see you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“nice place to cool down”
Reviewed June 12, 2010

After spending all day outside it was nice to cool down walking through the aquarium. I was surprised at how big one of the tanks was. They even had different kinds of sharks. Very cool!

Helpful?
Thank countryskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierna R, Public Relations Manager at ABQ BioPark Aquarium, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and leave the ABQ BioPark Aquarium a review.We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at our facility and we hope to see you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small...but nice”
Reviewed March 22, 2009

While visiting family we decided to take the kids to the Zoo & Aquarium. Its $7 for each individual section plus a fee for riding the train between the two areas or $12 for both including train rides (except Mondays, the train is closed that day).

However, this review is about the aquarium. As mentioned in the title, it is small. The time you spen in the aquarium is dependant on if you like to just stay in a few choice sections longer than a few minutes. We were in & out in probably 30 minutes,

You start by looking in a few smaller tanks in the entrance, then you move up a ramp (spotted with more smaller tanks) to a sting ray tank. These guys were neat. One came up to the viewing window on the side and basically attached itself to the side of the tank. Another "jumped" out of the water.

They have a coral tank, a shark tank, a jelly fish display, touch pools, and an eel tunnel. You can see the shark tank through the coral tank, but the sharks are shadowy.

Included with the ticket is entrance into the botannical garden (which is right next to the aquarium) but we didn't have the time/energy to go there after seeing the aquarium/zoo.

Although being short, it does provide for a nice day out of the house.

Helpful?
Thank Radzyn315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierna R, Public Relations Manager at ABQ BioPark Aquarium, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback and a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us at the ABQ BioPark. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed March 17, 2007

my family loved the aquarium. it was beautiful and a must see if you are in albuquerque.

Helpful?
Thank jeanniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierna R, Public Relations Manager at ABQ BioPark Aquarium, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and leave the ABQ BioPark Aquarium a review.We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at our facility and we hope to see you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABQ BioPark Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to ABQ BioPark Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing