We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place to Visit”

ABQ BioPark Aquarium
Ranked #24 of 223 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Visit”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Small but cute aquarium. This is part of the "Biopark," and shares space with the botanical garden. For one price ($12 for out of state adults, cheaper for NM and kids), you get admission to both. There isn't an option to just buy a ticket to one.

There are some displays with Rio Grande aquatic life, as well as a touch pool, sting rays, sharks, tropical fish, jellies, sea horses, and massive displays of Atlantic and Pacific reef systems. Employees were friendly and it was interesting to read the information accompanying exhibits.

I was glad that we went and I would say it's worth a trip in NM.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierna R, Public Relations Manager at ABQ BioPark Aquarium, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback and a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us at the ABQ BioPark. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    134
    103
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The Aquarium was awesome , it was small but filled with lots of sea life and fresh water creatures. They also opened up a space where we where able to touch a shark and a sting ray it was very interesting and learning experience. We also got to go into the Gardens for free which was great to see. They had lots of different gardens to see. Live swans and ducks plus two large green houses. We recommended going here!

Helpful?
1 Thank DeLaO24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierna R, Public Relations Manager at ABQ BioPark Aquarium, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and leave the ABQ BioPark Aquarium a review.We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at our facility and we hope to see you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Small aquarium, but worth a visit”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our family always loves to visit aquariums. The Albuquerque Aquarium is very small by Boston, Baltimore, and Atlanta standards, but worth a visit (and less crowded and more affordable than the others). It's possible to combine it with a zoo visit using a combined pass, and the train that takes you between the two. But look closely at the train schedule because it doesn't run early or late, making it less convenient.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierna R, Public Relations Manager at ABQ BioPark Aquarium, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback and a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us at the ABQ BioPark. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice aquarium, not too long.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The aquarium is a little short, you can run through it quickly in 20min. if you go fast or take you time. We like to come back and see more each time. It is a nice partial day excursion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony88na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierna R, Public Relations Manager at ABQ BioPark Aquarium, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback and a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us at the ABQ BioPark. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
291 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“go watch the fish!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

a cute little place to take up some time if you are done looking at everything else. clean and interesting! lots of fun fish to see!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank paws0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierna R, Public Relations Manager at ABQ BioPark Aquarium, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and leave the ABQ BioPark Aquarium a review.We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at our facility and we hope to see you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABQ BioPark Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to ABQ BioPark Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing