We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good Zoo”
Review of ABQ BioPark Zoo

ABQ BioPark Zoo
Ranked #8 of 222 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Corrales, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Zoo”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Rio Grande Zoo is not a huge zoo, but the park and the animals are well worth seeing. The park is shaded with tons of trees and shade which makes it a nice place to be on a warm summer day. The variety of animals is excellent and their living situations are of the highest quality with lots of room for them to explore. The zoo has a good breeding program and, if you're lucky, you'll get see a baby giraffe, elephant, or rhino.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    363
    100
    24
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice zoo!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We really enjoy this zoo every time we go. They have quite a few animals that you do not see at most mid-sized zoos, like polar bears. The train ride to the aquarium was long and cold in February, but it was nice that they offer it and the combo ticket for the zoo/train/aquarium/garden was an excellent deal for an entire day of fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Misselle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, NM
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best zoo in Albuquerque...”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Which is exactly my point. For ABQ, this is the greatest zoo...In general, it's a 3. It's definitely worth the visit. The live acts are great. The exhibits are really good, it's just small, and it's Albuquerque. Keep your expectations in check and it will exceed them!

Helpful?
Thank Chris_Tretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“buy an annual pass!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The annual pass is the way to go. I like dropping in on the fly for lunch or just a walk around. A great way to escape into a different world for a little while.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Of course we love the zoo!
This is a great place to take children of all ages.
We love that the peacocks are always walking around outside of fences and that you can feed the duck up close.
The play area is a nice option as well.
We love the season pass so we can go as often as we want.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank justme2ooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ABQ BioPark Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing