We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Barely updated, dirty, overpriced.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of ABQ BioPark Zoo

ABQ BioPark Zoo
Ranked #8 of 215 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Barely updated, dirty, overpriced.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Since 1980, the zoo is basically unchanged except for a train and finally a larger enclosure for the elephants. It's $10 a person to boot! I saw trash all over, poor animals pacing in small enclosures, and children scaring some animals while their parents did nothing, let alone zoo employees. It's saddest of all to see the lone tiger pacing in boredom, a cockatoo chewing at its fencing with no toys, and giraffes having a small enclosure in which to live. This zoo is pathetic. Send these animals to sanctuaries and better places and close it down. It's not improved much in the 30 years I've known it. I'll never return, it's too depressing.

Helpful?
Thank jezzebelmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    338
    86
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This zoo is the perfect size for families with children. When our children were young, we had a membership and would go in the morning, see half the zoo, then leave and come back another day to go the other direction and see the rest of the zoo. There is even a pond to feed the fish, or picnic on the grass under huge trees.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio rancho, nm
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent summer concert series!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's not what you might expect in the middle of an urban desert but it's a great zoo; clean, well populated, well cared for critters. Summer concert series runs late June - July and the music is varied so everyone can find something to enjoy, Bring a picnic and spend the day! We love to picnic under the enormous cottonwood trees and watch hummingbirds while we relax. We love that the peacocks wander through the park...so beautiful! Also has 2 really huge crocs which I;m happy to say are well secure!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ny2nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BIGGER THAN YOU THINK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the outside, this zoo looks small. Step inside and you'll have a really fun day seeing a surprising large collection of well-maintained and fed animals. This was a total surprise for me. I only stopped to take some pictures and ended staying the day! Great for kids of all ages, the staff is attentive to your needs and are friendly and full of useful tips to keep your day a fun day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For The Kids...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our Zoo is working on-it! The up-grades must be made and we understand that; however, the overall effort to ensure that the visitors are better routed through the Zoo needs to be addressed, along with habitat "under repair".
Signage is really very poor in most of the habitats and along many of the walks. Money, money, and of course money is a budget-killer! As the Zoo gets-on with better times, it's likely the critique will be more towards "curing" the ills. Come see it, anyway, 'cause the amenities are still very well thought out. Shucks, it's less expensive that other cities of 300-600 thousand population. For us, the best thing is hearing the kids squeal with delight when they see animals "up close".

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ABQ BioPark Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing