We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Find!”
Review of Owl Cafe

Owl Cafe
Ranked #18 of 1,769 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lucky Find!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Knowing nothing of Albuquerque where we stopped overnight the hotel around the corner recommended this spot. Great interior ! The manager and waitress could not have been nicer, the complimentary snack starter of beans with green chile was yummy and the green chili cheeseburger delicious and large enough to share. If you find yourself along I40 at meal time, don't pass this place up!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    168
    50
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband wanted to go here because it is a place he had visited when he was younger. We went for lunch and it was pretty good. The cafe is set up like a 50s style diner. The waitress was very friendly. I ordered a deep fried hot dog with mango salsa. It was good other than the hot dog bun was split so I couldn't eat it like a normal hot dog. The salsa had some good heat. My husband ordered the daily special which was chicken fried steak with mashed potatoes and steamed veggies. He enjoyed it. Our daughter had the chicken tenders and fries. It was a large portion for a child's meal. She thought it was good. The only strange thing was that the hostess brought out a small bowl of beans with chilies before we even ordered our meal. It was odd to us because we aren't use to it, but I guess that is normal for them. The food was good, and it was nice for my husband to go back and visit since he remembered it from his childhood.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bland”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Food was bland, Waitstaff was OK. Manager was off-putting and rude, when I complained about the blandness of the food. If you do not get chili on the food you will have not seasoning or flavor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A fun meal on a long drive”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stopped to eat at the Owl Cafe as we passed through town. My girls love owls, and my husband had eaten here as a kid. I really enjoyed my sweet chili burger (very messy), and we had a hard time deciding on milkshake flavors since they are big enough to serve two people. I ended up asking for banana added to a peanut butter brownie milkshake.

My kids loved all the owl decor, and my husband and I had fun reading through all the jukebox selections. Worth stopping if you are in town!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
313 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

While passing through Albuquerque I wanted to eat a great Green Chili Cheeseburger. The reviews for the Owl Cafe were excellent, so I stopped here for a burger. It was average and disappointing. I was expecting the the quality of a green chili cheeseburger that I have had at Santa Fe Bite. I should have driven to Santa Fe for the burger.

I will say, the Owl Cafe has great reviews for their milkshakes and desserts, but I was in the market for a burger. I do not need to consume a 2,000 calorie milkshake.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank joelikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owl Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Owl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing