We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once is enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Finance Restaurant - CLOSED

High Finance Restaurant
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tramway Blvd.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
190 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

On top of Sandia Peak, you would think that the views from the restaurant would be incredible from anywhere you sit. Not the case as we looked out onto the stairs to the Tram. The food was good but the service was slow causing us to miss a tram and then get stranded at the top of the mountain for two hours because high winds shut down the tram. Any charm the restaurant has is erased by the constant loud announcements for guest parties to be seated making you feel like you are in an airport. A buzzer system would help the ambiance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    185
    154
    76
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
356 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Went for the View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was debating to give a 3 star (average) to 4 star (very good). Actually a 3.5 star is what I have in mind. The meal is adequate, service is attentive but a little overwhelmed because of the continue stream of crowds during this Balloon Festival week.

The view (we lucked out) where we sat was gorgeous watching the sunset color changes, making the meals rating to become "very good".

Using the "trolley friendly" sticker from ABQ Trolley tour we got a free desert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dining at its peak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went there during the opening weekend of the Balloon Festival! Huge mistake! lines were long with 3-4 hr waits to get on the tram. but seeing as i am a savvy chicagoan, bought tickets off an impatient traveler and made it to the top in less than an hour of my arrival. No reservations at High Finance, no problemo, you may have drinks and appetizers at the bar says the greeter/hostess. Again, being the savvy chicagoan that i am, i had dinner at the bar. My friend and i took up about half the bar with our dishes including: calamari (oh so good), crab cakes (ok), spinach artichoke dio (meh), sirloin, strip steak (good), mashed potatoes, vegetables, caramel cheesecake, apple maritinis. The food was very good and worth the trek. i'm a bit of foodie so i wasn't completely blown away but if you are ever in albuquerque, i recommend giving this restaurant a try. You will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Name-me1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

friendly atmosphere, unforgetable view and
delicious food. It was a great stop after taking the tram up 10,000 feet. The waiter gave us a heads up to leave before
it got too windy to go down in the tram

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rnemeth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, va
Level Contributor
228 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Since we had just taken the tram up to the top of Sandia, we decided to go ahead and have dinner. We love steaks and decided to give the filet a try. Mine was not rare...but raw, so we traded. His was rare as we asked. The mashed potatoes were fine, but the steamed vegetables needed to be steamed about two minutes more. For the price, the steak was just average. I would have checked the reviews first, however my phone had just died before we decided to stay and eat. I wouldn't return for the steak, but I would for the view!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank techgmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Finance Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing