We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Average Food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Finance Restaurant - CLOSED

High Finance Restaurant
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tramway Blvd.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Service, Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had dinner at the High Finance atop Sandia Peak. Our server was very helpful and provided good service. The food was good, but a step below excellent...worth dinner with a view but too bad not as good as the view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    185
    154
    76
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food with a great view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

You can't beat the view from this restaurant. It is 10,000 feet up on the top of the Sandia Mountains. My husband and I visited for lunch and both ordered the Green chili cheeseburger that was recommended by our server Ty. The burgers were great and the service was attentive. Our water glasses were kept full and condiments brought quickly. We loved the atmosphere with a mirrored bar and classic country playing in the background. This was a fun and tasty lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food needs lots of attention but tram and view were great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We decided t the last minute we would eat at the restaurant up top. It was very empty, maybe because it was late and on a Wednesday evening. We met some people and got to talking and we got a table together. We had very pleasant company. I ordered the Shrimp scampi and it was okay. I really couldn't complain about it much and the zucchini was cooked to perfection. My husband ordered the chicken Parmesan and it was a Hugh disappointment. The pasta was cool, not hot and the chicken was not cooked through. He could not eat the rest of his meal. Our friends had the Tomato bisque and she stated that was very good. Her husband also ordered the chicken Parmesan with the pasta Al dente. The pasta was almost hard and it was cold too. His chicken was also not cooked. The General Manager came by and spoke with us and apologized and took some off he meals and gave us dessert. He said he is the new GM and he is making some changes. He said he is also chef. I am hoping good changes. This restaurant is beautiful and very elegant and needs to serve food up to that standard. The view from the top was incredible. Make sure you go up before the sunsets and then come down afterwards so you can see the lights of Albuquerque. .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank okcoxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great view, average food, crappy service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This restaurant has an awesome view but the food was average and way too experience! The service sucked. Our waiter forgot about us and we waited 30 extra minutes for a table when we already had a reservation. Go for the view and ride up the tram but skip the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bar needs oxygen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had drinks at the bar after a ride up on the tram. The views are incredible. The bar is well stocked. We had martinis, which were just okay. Downside was the bartender. Bartender was not the least bit engaging and seemed to want to be elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Finance Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing