We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the name is a misnomer....”
Review of High Finance Restaurant - CLOSED

High Finance Restaurant
Price range: $21 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tramway Blvd.
canberra
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“the name is a misnomer....”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a not a high finance dining experience...but the food was adequate. However it is the cable ride to the top of Sandia Peak which is the highlight, and the only reason to eat at this restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank babyboomercanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    185
    154
    76
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good View and Drinks, but that is where it ended.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went up for a nice evening meal for our last day in town. The view was very nice and the tram ride was fun. We were quickly seated at our table even though we were early for our reservation. Our waitress was very slow, kinda lost, and very abrasive. Once seated we were able look over the whole menu and decide what we wanted before she even showed up to greet us. She took our order and didn't write anything down, which is ok if you remember the orders, she did not. I expected the food to take a few to cook, but it was a little wait. The food was tasty, better than Applebee's for sure. It wasn't the best steak, I was expecting more for the price and the location. We were going to get dessert but since the waitress was so slow and never around when we needed her we opted out. We gave her our credit card before seeing the check just to speed up the process. Didn't help. She was gone for a few and came back to the area 3 times before realizing that she never returned the check to us. We may go back if more family comes into town and want to up up and see the sights. The drinks were good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food outstanding view”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The ride to the top is great, and is discounted if you have reservations at High Finance. The restaurant has great views in almost every seating area. The menu is average with a few different items and the wine list is typical. The food was good but not top notch, the service was good as well, not top notch again but still decent. If you consider the cost to go to the top as part of your overall bill you will be disappointed however the prices at the restaurant are indicative of the food and service you recieve. The cost top ride to the top is a stand alone cost.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Destination Restaurant”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nothing of course could outshine the tram ride to Sandia Peak. Which, by the way, is how all the restaurant gets all it's supplies, including water every morning. But the food and the decor weren't bad as some would have you think.
I had a house salad witth grilled chicken as a meal, which was adequate. Husband had huge portion of green chile chicken alfredo, house salad and a house margarita. He enjoyed the whole meal. The hostess and the wait staff were all friendly and met all of our needs promptly. 3***

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go for the view not the food!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We got the spinach dip which was terrible and microwaved. The pittas were crispy and I'm pretty sure soaked in oil. I witnessed a man send his margarita back bc there was something floating in it and the table next to us had the nachos with brown guacamole. Eat before you head up the tram!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Finance Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing