We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally cute vintage diner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Route 66 Malt Shop - CLOSED

Route 66 Malt Shop
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Totally cute vintage diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Totally cute decor and the waitresses were great. Had an awesome burger and delicious old fashioned chocolate shake. Definitely worth the time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sbrunck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denton, TX
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nostalgic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Went there because of it's name. Didn't see many reviews but the ones there were good. More folks need to learn to praise the good in things. This was a cute place with a very friendly 'teacher turned summer waitress'. Home cooked food, not instant or frozen. Very happy I tried this place out!

Helpful?
2 Thank dladonnalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious rootbeer floats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I wanted something refreshing while visiting Albuquerque on a very hot day. We found the Route 66 Malt Shop on Google, and it sounded perfect. Because we'd eaten lunch earlier in the day, we just ordered rootbeer floats, which were the best we've ever had. The rootbeer is homemade, and the taste is just right--not too fizzy or cloyingly sweet. And best of all, our very friendly server offered us seconds for free! We'll be sure to go back next time for a full meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taos_NewMexicoBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Just O.K.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had high expectation for this place, but, sadly, it didn't come up to what we thought it would be like from all the other reviews. First, they have moved to 3500 Central Ave. SE.
We both had Green Chili Cheeseburgers, hers with blue cheese, mine with cheddar. The burgers were cooked medium, which was nice. The green chili was quite warm, but I like it that way. Buns pretty soggy. need a sturdier bun and toasted enough to hold everything together. Outside the green chili, it was just an ordinary burger. Nothing to write home about.
The one good thing was the fries. Really good shoestring fries, and the small order is really enough for two.
Prices seem a little bit high; two burgers, no drink, small fries, $20.00
Probably won't go back

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Skip the meal and only get the dessert.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We enjoyed looking around the restaurant. The food was average at best and overpriced. If we ever go back again we will only get a malt or ice cream sundae. Good to try once and enjoy the 50's & 60's music.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rjlowe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 66 Malt Shop also viewed

Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, Albuquerque
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing