We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, throwback atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 66 Diner

66 Diner
Ranked #12 of 1,778 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun, throwback atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Food was good, but very slow. Go there for the experience, but definitely give yourself at least an hour-and-a-half. Lots of kitschy, decor and a diner menu.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizrainh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    171
    70
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Cute and Fun, Not the Greatest Value... But I Would Go Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This restaurant is incredibly cute. It is very wonderfully kitschy and 1950's themed. Even the waitresses wear matching vintage styled dresses. This place is a treat for the eyes. I think children would especially love this restaurant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The menu had a great variety of foods, great for groups or people with varying tastes. Our food was really good and we enjoyed our experience a lot. I would definitely go back. I will say, that this was not the cheapest place considering the type of food we ordered. The onion rings that we split were $7.99(!) and they were nothing special, just normal onion rings. We spent more than we think we should have... but the portions were very large. If you split something and choose between sodas and shakes, skip appetizers etc that will slim down the bill. Despite the prices, I would definitely go back in the future. The atmosphere was worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nostalgic place, good service, I felt like I was in the 80s or maybe further back in time ... I wish I had tried a little of everything with the hunger that brought, as it was my first vacation stop for lunch after a trip from Monterrey Mx.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieGza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Not a world class soda fountain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We read that this diner served old fashioned ice cream sodas. They’re not on the menu which should have been a clue. We order the chocolate one as we read another trip advisor reviewer had. We really know our ice cream sodas as we’ve had them all over America. This one wasn’t very good. For one thing, it wasn’t very chocolaty, even though we asked that it be loaded with chocolate. And it didn’t have enough ice cream for the amount of soda in the glass. However, the presentation was lovely. To be fair, we only ordered the soda so we can’t comment on any other menu item. And the place is very cute outside and even more fun inside. We wouldn’t say don’t come here, just don’t order an old fashioned ice cream soda.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Art-Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A bit costly and bad for your health... BUT so very good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We always stop by here. It looks really cool inside and everyone is dressed like in an old 50's diner, they are also always very friendly. The menu is very southwestern/ diner-esque. We always make the mistake of ordering full malt shakes- no need for that much, it really will fill you up before your meal even arrives. The food we prefer is the burger with green chillis. Wet fries are also a must, pretty much just Fries covered in some really tasty brown gravy. Give it a shot.
It is worth the cost, even though we are not in the best place financially, we did make a special occasion out of 66 DINER and will again in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank molopomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 66 Diner also viewed

 
Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to 66 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing