We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food in A Comfortable Setting”

Scalo Northern Italian Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Scalo Northern Italian Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,769 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Carlisle
Description: Located in the heart of Nob Hill on the corner of Carlisle and Central, Scalo offers an atmosphere that is casually elegant and service which is attentive and knowledgeable. Scalo uses locally grown organic produce and offers classic handmade Northern cuisine with a seasonal menu that changes with the harvests.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Food in A Comfortable Setting”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Notable positives: Good food with appropriate serving size
Notable negatives: Nothing in particular
Food: Chicken salad very good; excellent bread
Service: Professional but a bit curt
Ambience: Italian, clean, comfortable
Outdoor seating: Available; shaded; looks over parking lot
View: Nothing special
Access/parking: Could be problematic; lot adjacent to shopping center; on street parking as well, but limited
Best tables: Away from front door

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trogons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    102
    38
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Scalo's Up Again”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Over the years, eating at Scalo has been great, very good, good, and, sadly, mediocre. It's back to being a very good, very pleasant experience. The food is prepared with more ingredient combinations (especially the pasta) than in the best Italian cooking. but it is still very tasty. Service has ranged recently from professional and friendly to indifferent, depending on the server, but the majority of the staff are great. nice wines at reasonable prices.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzeNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
859 reviews
459 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been to Scalo three times now and I have never been disappointed. I love their food and they have great wines! But, this is a very expensive restaurant and I have always gone there to celebrate something, not for routine dining out!
I had the salmon special this time and I absolutely loved it. I was savoring every bite of it when I realized that there were not too many bites left. My friend, who was eating fish (bass?) had the same experience. The portions were very small. Although we got very tasty bread before our entree, one noticed that the portions could have been a bit bigger. Then we had to have desserts (a sampler made up of ice cream, tiramisu & some other thing that was very good) as we were still finishing our bottle of wine. Wines were half off that night. So we got a Pinot noir for $20.00. It was great wine, but I can only imagine how good the $80 bottles must have been!
So, as I said, great food, very pricey and it is a good place for a special occasion!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
526 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“And the Beat Goes On”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I re-visited Scalos last week and our opinion is unchanged from our review over a year ago. It's good, but certainly nothing out of the ordinary. The pasta dishes are good but portions only adequate. There is little evidence of creativity but the sauces were flavorful and not overwhelming of the perfectly cooked pasta. Sea bass is still offered despite being discouraged as it is endangered. The menu is still heavy on beef selections. Our salad was large with a variety of greens but little else. Bread is served in an open basket which meant that crumbs were all over the table causing our waiter to brush them off several times. This time, the bread was stale. Pasta prices are high average but entrees are very expensive. We were seated in an area directly ahead of the entry with only 7-8 tables and a people watching view along Central. The restaurant itself was very noisy, but not where we were. Service was fine. The wine list is extensive and pricey. Monday nights are half priced wine night. Beware that one cannot use a discount coupon along with the half priced wine. Scalos seems to appeal to tourists and locals who kind of move in, take over, and talk too loudly. We had hoped to submit a review that exceeded the "average" we gave it last time, but unfortunately, could not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
291 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Mediocre Foid”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The three of us ate and had Bloody Mary's yesterday at Scalo. We ordered pizza, the waitress attempted to deliver our pizza to three other tables before finding us. The pizza was bland and had little toppings (Gorgonzola pesto). The waitress delivered our check. We looked at it and was fine. We attempted to pay when the waitress came back and said we received the wrong receipt. I said it was what we ordered. She took it away an brought it back adding an additional $6 on for the Tito vodka we had in our Bloody Mary. I said we were told to tell the bartender what vodka for Bloody Mary, no mention was made that we would have additional charges. Our waitress was unsympathetic. We do not recommend this restaurant. Thanks for reading. The Bike Chaplain

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bike-Chaplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalo Northern Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Scalo Northern Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing