We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Scalo Northern Italian Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Scalo Northern Italian Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 1,763 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Carlisle
Description: Located in the heart of Nob Hill on the corner of Carlisle and Central, Scalo offers an atmosphere that is casually elegant and service which is attentive and knowledgeable. Scalo uses locally grown organic produce and offers classic handmade Northern cuisine with a seasonal menu that changes with the harvests.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We were seated by the hostess, but after two minutes, we requested a seat change. We were under an intense ceiling fan by the open kitchen, and it was noisy and cold. Our seat relocation was a little better, but we still think this is a slightly noisy place. Service was slow to find us, but was adequate throughout the meal. The dinner salads and pasta entrees were delicious. We shared a creme brulee for dessert, another yummy item. All in all, for a special occasion, this place was all right, but not necessarily a knockout. I'll bet prom goers would like it. We might come back and try the patio when it's warmer, but I have issues sitting in the middle of the parking lot.

Helpful?
Thank Go to Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    98
    36
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great lunch with family”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I met our daugher who is attending college at UNM (go Lobos) for an early dinner this weekend and decided to go to Scalos. We arrived for our 5:00 reservation and the place was already pretty buzzing. We were seated immediatly in the covere outdoor area and greeted by our waitress. She was very pleasant and throughout the meal attentive without being overly so. The food (Antipasto, pizza, pasta dishes, and the desert sampler) were perfect, and the atmosphere was great. Highly enjoyable and recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
419 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Good, dependable dining”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've eaten at Scalo often when in Albuquerque and have found it to be very good in all ways. Service is prompt, food is tasty and nicely presented, and prices are fair. My last visit was at the end of February when I took a friend there for her birthday; she had never eaten there before and said she really liked it and wanted to return. She ordered a simple pasta dish and salad, and I had salmon; both were generous portions and delicious. I wouldn't describe Scalo as gourment dining, but it is very consistent and that is reassuring when choosing a restaurant that isn't in your hometown. When the weather is warm enough, there is an outdoor patio, it's adjacent to a busy street so I ususally don't opt to eat in that area. When I have, I've found it to be too noisy with all the nearby traffic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Given up on this restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The reputation Scalo has is one of being great gourmet food. The last time I went there, they didn't even put the ingrediant in the name-sake dish (i.e. there was no gnocchi in the gnocchi dish!!) and a time before the dish called for shrimp and I had to search to finally find one! Good grief - and then when I complained to the hostess as we were leaving, all she could say was "better luck next time" - obviously there won't be a next time.

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious food, excellent service, delightful overall”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our group of four (from out of town) had a wonderful evening here over dinner. The waiter was very helpful as we chose our entrees, and each of us was very pleased with our choice. He did make one mistake in bringing our order but rectified it quickly. His service was well-timed and charming. The noise level was just right- bustling enough to feel lively, but not too loud for conversation (even for the hearing-challenged). We lingered over wine after we finished because the atmosphere was so comfortable and pleasant. Ask the waiter what to order- that may be the difference between the less satisfied diners and our experience (the waiter actually steered us away from one of the specials).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalo Northern Italian Grill also viewed

 
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Scalo Northern Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing