We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Newbie to New Mexican Cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perea's New Mexican Restaurant

Perea's New Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #152 of 1,778 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Newbie to New Mexican Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Perea's was my first experience with New Mexican cuisine and I loved it. I got the adovada platter and the flavors were bursting in my mouth. New flavors. Delicious flavors.

We were seated by a little girl about 7 years old. I thought it was sweet. A grown-up took our orders, though. :)

The place is unassuming and small and seemed very laid-back. A couple walked in as we were leaving and the server welcomed them back, saying he hadn't seem them in awhile. I liked that.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank betterinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    13
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“food great service not so great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

food great service not so great we had a great meal but server seemed to be more concerned with criticising other wait staff wich seemed to be doing a great job from what i observed instead of tending to her own customers eeerrrrso frustrating very unprofessional i would definitly go back for take out or maybe with a different server!!! You can have the best food on earth but if you have unprofessional service that can be devistating to your business.........!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank javy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

OK, not great, some pluses and minuses.

Plus: The food was pretty good. The green chile and red chile enchiladas were both good, and had a good bite as well as flavor.

Minus: The service was clueless. As we waited for a table (about 1:30PM) four tables sat un-bussed, but several wait staff stood around looking like doing so was no where near their job. Once seated the table service was occasional and perfunctory, let alone warm and friendly. Once the check was plonked down, no one came to pick it up even though five of the wait staff were pretty much standing around chatting.

This was all odd since we were friendly on our part. It's not like we earned their ire...no one seemed to be very happy working there, and none seemed to help each other out.

Food 4 stars, service = 1 star. Average about a 3. Won't be going back. We had a better New Mexican meal the night before at Cucina Azul.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karlitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food but new location not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The best huevos rancheros in town. Hot green chile, homemade beans and tortillas, always great service. Unfortunately the new location is horrible. It's cramped, so you hear every other customers conversations , poor ventilation, and just very uncomfortable. Been a customer for years but I'm afraid I will either get it to go or go somewhere else.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikealbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling heights, MI
Level Contributor
202 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Check Facebook for new address on Juan Tabo NE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Central location is closed but Perea's has reopened on Juan Tabo NE. Same find food as other location. Can't wait to eat there again upon my return to ABQ.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank timetraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perea's New Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Perea's New Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing