We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very yummy”

Padilla's Mexican Kitchen
Ranked #23 of 1,776 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lothian, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very yummy”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

First, you need to know it is a cash only restaurant. With that, this is a great hole in the wall family place. If you go at lunch time, be prepared for a line but it's worth it. Everything is great, fresh, and meals come with a warm smile!

Helpful?
1 Thank carolann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    37
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood New Mexican restaraunt”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The place is always packed at lunch & dinner because they have really good New Mexican food at reasonable prices. It isn't a fancy design like the big restaurants in town, just tables & chairs in strip shopping center but that doesn't seem to bother any of the many customers that crowd in it during the week. It is not open weekends. Their Tacos and Enchiladas are excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sopapillas are worth the visit alone”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This place is nothing fancy to look at, that's for sure. The restaurant is part of a rundown strip mall and the inside looks like a cafeteria from the 80s. Still, the service was quick, maybe too quick, but they were in the middle of the lunch rush so I guess I can't blame them. Our server took our order and in less than 10 minutes our food was in front of us. Both hubby and I agreed the food was good but not amazing. The one exception would be the sopapillas and the tableside agave. Being from Florida where we don't have this kind of thing at our Mexican restaurants it was a real treat. The sopapillas were big, cooked lightly and perfectly and were crisp on the outside but pillowy soft inside. I had to control myself not to eat the whole basket! Definitely the best we had while in ABQ. I would recommend this little place, for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lleeggssk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Albq's Best New Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I first dined at Padilla's when I moved to Albq in 1989. It was my constant, my go-to place when I needed New Mex food. Doesn't matter what you order, everything is good. Even though I moved away quite a few years ago Padilla's remains my fave restaurant whenever I visit. Sometimes I dream of eating a meal there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffree I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for right off the plane.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Met a fellow traveler at El Morro who recommended this place. It was perfect for a late lunch after my son flew in. The food was brought out hot and fast. The waitress was friendly and attentive. The sopapilla with honey was fantastic. Will return and pass along the recommendation!

Helpful?
1 Thank k8_thegr8_rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padilla's Mexican Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Padilla's Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing