We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic New Mexican cuisine”

Barelas Coffee House
Ranked #4 of 33 Coffee & Tea in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic New Mexican cuisine”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This place represents a true New Mexican cuisine as it is very popular among locals. The meat is fresh, the chili's - both red and green sauce - are outstanding, the tortillas are homemade, menudo was tasty, in general, this was a pleasant experience. It is a local restaurant, off the beaten path to tourists, which offers a true taste of this fine cuisine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    34
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pampa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our favorite for Huevo Rancheros”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

As former New Mexican residents, we are always needing a chile fix when we visit Albuquerque. Barelas has become our go to place for Huevo Rancheros. We like the Deluxe version of this dish. The food is served up stove hot and plentiful. The chile is flavorful, but not much of a bite. You also get a flour tortilla that tastes homemade and like it just came off the stove.

This place is called a coffee house, not what today's coffee drinkers consider a coffee house. But, a coffee house, in a traditional sense, a meeting place where people drink coffee, eat good food and visit. You will find elderly couples, families, friends, business people, politicians and a few tourists. We always enjoy a hot cup of joe and a hearty breakfast. We have never made it here for lunch, but some day will.

I will say what I have said in other Albuquerque local resaurant reviews, being shiny and new does not constitute being the best. If you want a chain, there are plenty around. If you want a place to get the feel of Albuquerque, this is one of those places. We will be back and enjoy ourselves, again. Before I forget, the wait staff is friendly and hard working, they are zipping around and doing a good job of taking care of all their patrons, with a smile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast. Really nice people.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I had carne asada, my wife had huevos rancheros deluxe. Great, great meals, reasonably priced and served by really nice people. We ate on the outdoor patio on a beautiful morning. You can't go wrong with breakfast here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiligenhaus, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Trendy New Mexican Atmosphere with a Gift Shop”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This restaurant has good menudo and serves chips and salsa. It is a popular restaurant and has memorabilia from New Mexico on the walls and a nice gift shop to visit for those looking for New Mexico souvenirs!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Local Food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

not fancy and just accross the street from a fast food drive through, but you should eat here. Great simple food- chile (chile sauce with posole), enchiladas, tacos and chile rellenos, but inexpensive with a capital I, quick service and pleasant decor with lots of vintage sign advertisements. Do be carefull - the sauces can be hot!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 555JenniferL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barelas Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Barelas Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing