We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast!”

Barelas Coffee House
Ranked #4 of 33 Coffee & Tea in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Hayesville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My nephew took me to Barelas while I was visiting him in Albuquerque. It is definitely a locals place, but the food was very good. We had excellent service and I would go back there for breakfast again.
My nephew really enjoys their Mexican dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howie28904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    35
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Great Ambiance!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the best place for New Mexican food! It's the place the locals hang out and the ambiance is one of the hustle-bustle of a great neighborhood.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank El-Viador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointing after recommendations by others”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went for lunch. We had chicken tacos. They were not flavorful at all. The beans were not reven refried beans - just bare beans. The salsa was OK, but again without much flavor. We had expected more after hearing about Barelas, but on this occasion we were quite disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get Here Early”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

One of the best in all of Albuquerque. If you are planning on having lunch here, I suggest that you arrive no later than 1115, or plan on standing in line. I have never had a bad meal here and everything is cooked fresh and made to order.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shadow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent richly flavored NM rustic food!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We walked from our hotel (1 mile) to this superb neighborhood restaurant from downtown, and so glad we did after filling our bellies with this deliciously spicy and plentiful food.

Hubby and I shared a bowl of pozole, one of the best we've ever had, and each had the Carne Adobada with Eggs. We could not stop raving about it while we polished it off. Will definitely be going back there again!

One last item, the flavorful food more than made up for the slow service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReadEatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barelas Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Barelas Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing