We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't honor their Restaurant.com coupons”
Review of Ortegas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ortegas
Ranked #391 of 1,769 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Won't honor their Restaurant.com coupons”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We went there for lunch and has pursued a coupon for restaurants.com. The server was nice but told us that they had been told not to honor the coupons that they had sold through restaurants.com. Not cool . So you get the advertising at the cost of your customers. This has nothing to do with the coupon but I did get sick to my stomach as soon as I had eaten. It did go away after a couple hours.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevetijeras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
713 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Family run, friendly restaurant”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Always good to find the real restaurants run by a friendly family that locals know about. This is one of them. The place can be very busy, but the food is good and comes fairly fast. The prices are good and the food is excellent. Will definitely try to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fairly priced, tasty Mexican food. The chili was tasty, but not overly hot - you could taste the flavors. Pinto beans were freshly cooked. Good service. Lunch menu is reasonable and a good portion for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 874Davra874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic and unique”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are among the many regulars at this quiet, family-run restaurant. The staff are welcoming and professional. Expect Rudy, the owner, to come to your table, greet you warmly, and make sure all is well. The food is the best of NM traditional cuisine. They make their own tortilla chips, and their whole wheat sopaipillas are deliciously unique. They are masters of green and red chile sauces. Ortegas have catered several parties for us, and we always order a big pan of tamales. They remove the husks and cover the tamales in red chile sauce, and we never have leftovers. Try their enchiladas, red or green, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
300 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Reliable and good”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We've eaten at Ortega's five times on three visits to Albuquerque. We keep going back, that says a lot. I;m fond of their tamales and enchiladas. The sopapillas are the best I've ever had. Service is always freindly and efficient. The restaurant isn't fancy, it is in a strip mall, you could drive by dozens of times and not notice it. But the food is great, and the prices are reasonable. We'll be back on our next trip to Albuquerque.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wfgjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortegas also viewed

 

Been to Ortegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing