We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food on our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sophia's Place

Sophia's Place
Ranked #102 of 1,778 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best food on our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This is absolutely dreamy Mexican food, best meal on our 4 day trip on this city. But a true "dive" so it ain't fancy. But quirky and genuine. But the food is OUTSTANDING.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    49
    8
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“amazing for breakfast and dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

we stopped here on an elk hunting trip to new mexico and ate an amazing breakfast that was so good we stopped on the way back for dinner. The huevos rancheros were amazing the pork in the breakfast burrito is totally mindblowing. Its a nice little place with local owners and the food is hot n fresh. We stopped back and had the chicken enchiladas and the chili rellenos both were fantastic. We also ordered a side taco with the pork because I just had to taste it again to confirm it was as good as i remembered. It was...
Definitely friendly and fantastic food.
A tip is to stop next door and pick up some peppers and spices at the store next door. We bought a ristra and some fantastic chipolte and ground chili. I think its called the country basket you will see it right next door!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spendingdagreen406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middletown, nj
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were driving towards another place for brunch and saw Sophia's wih it's crowded parking lot and outdoor patio. Local, friendly place with lots of choices for brunch. Great value and the smell of roasting chilies from the veggie market next door.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
222 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worth stopping by.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Saw Sophia's on diners and dives so decided to give it a try. Not the fanciest in town, but that is part of the Fun. The eggs ranchero with green chilies was delicious, as were the potatoes, breakfast sandwich, and burrito. Order taker was friendly even though it took us a while to order, good coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grannyofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,879 reviews
633 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is unassuming with really tasty NM food including interesting ingredients. Great for breakfast and lunch with seating inside and out. We had a great soft taco platter one wtith shrimp and one with chicken and a tasty cheese and chicken quesadilla, both about $10 including a small salad, rice and beans. Do not miss this gem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's Place also viewed

 
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Sophia's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing