We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”

El Charritos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #121 of 1,766 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
301 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Is it the best green chile in Albuquerque? You probably wouldn’t get much of an argument here. Is it the spiciest red chile in town? See above.
We love this place. Friendly, efficient service. Terrific food. Large portions. Good prices. On this trip, I just wasn’t in the mood for rice and beans, so I had a bowl of green chile with beans and chicken. Simply delicious, with lots of pintos and a huge amount of shredded, tender white meat. I didn’t make much of a dent in the serving and probably have enough left over for two meals. Not bad for a little more than $7. My wife picked her standby, huevos rancheros, with beans, potatoes and a hearty serving of red. She’s no wimp but still broke off chunks of the sopapilla as she ate.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great food. Enjoyed the Huevo Rancheros & Chili Relleno's w/ Green Chili's. Sopapillas were excellent! Very good value for the price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Even better this time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This restaurant was across from out motel, and we have eaten lunch here each time we stayed. This year, the place looked more settled than last - more furniture and permanent decorations. The service was good, and our food was very good. I don't like spicy, so had a BLT. My husband enjoyed his enchiladas, and had to get a doggy bag for part of it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank free_agents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howelldw
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice local spot on Route 66”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was visiting in the area and the parking lot seemed full, so thought I would check it out. It was nice and the food was good. It was on par with other mexican food places in town. The food was more of a tex-mex style rather than mexico. The locals seem to like it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank howelldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plenty to eat, very good, very inexpensive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

El Charritos is directly across the street from our motel, Sandia Peak Motel, so we had to check it out for supper. Sparkly clean, well lit, and quite a few families were our tip off that this was a good place to come. Plenty of food on the plates, quick and friendly waitress who stopped to chat, and dozens of original paintings on the walls by a local artist of New Mexico landscapes. Since the bill was so reasonable we made sure the tip was generous! The leftovers were delicious the next day too! No alcohol = no big deal for us.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PitchMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charritos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Charritos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing