We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great big landmark Rt 66 order-up style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frontier Restaurant

Frontier Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 1,778 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
209 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great big landmark Rt 66 order-up style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Pretty much says it. Quite a great history (which is pictured on their dateline above the order counters. Order up, along with university students from across the street. Then pick it up and eat in any of four big rooms. Great art on all the walls (John Wayne dominates), or the "rug room" ceiling covered with rugs. Watch for the spicy food, but it is great fare for inexpensive prices. Lots of New Mexican food and history with the young vibe.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    537
    169
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“always a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is one place I really look forward to when visiting Albuquerque and even though it had been several years since my last visit I was not disappointed it’s not a fancy place very near the university but the food is consistently delisious and the prices are right looking forward to my next trip!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patty218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's a Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

It has the original ABQ feel to it as well as a college town feel.
The food is dinner food...so if you like dinner food it is a good place to go.
The service is good.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skymoon333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
182 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We had driven by this place a coule of times as we going were going up and down Central Ave. and noticed how busy it was. We went in and had some enchiladas and a burger. Both were very good and inexpensive. We went across the street and walked around UNM.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Attkica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
208 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lunch was great so let's do dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

This place is amazing! It's full of energy being across from the University. It is old and very simple. You order at the counter and await your delicious food. The green chili stew and freshly made tortillas are amazing. The burritos were to die for also. These have green chili sauce over the top. Their green chili stew is so great the I bought the largest container to go and froze it to take home in my suitcase. After eating it's fun to walk around the restaurant and view all the artwork. They have quite a collection. This is a must do in Albuquerque!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madge464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontier Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Frontier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing