We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite salad bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
Ranked #227 of 1,766 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sweet Tomatoes features made-from-scratch soups and salads and handcrafted muffins, Focaccia, breads, and desserts. The menu is built around freshly made, great-tasting, wholesome recipes with a 55-foot salad bar full of fresh, seasonal vegetables and tossed salads prepared exhibition-style every 20 minutes. Sweet Tomatoes provides its guests with an excellent value by offering unlimited access to its entire menu of high quality fresh items at a fixed price.
Level Contributor
224 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“My favorite salad bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I love this salad bar for he variety of offerings and the immaculate surroundings. Also, I have always found the employees there to be unfailingly polite. Best to go for early or later lunch if possible, as it can get very crowded during the noon hour.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginny1234_5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
260 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Nicely executed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

A clever concept nicely done. The enormous salad bar is full of fresh and nicely served salad makings. In addition there are soups and desserts. Everything is tasty. A vegetarian and lo-cal great choice.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawlins, Wyoming
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Went with wife (one of her favorite restaurants) on business trip. I was very surprised how good this was; salads fresh, nice soup variety, great frozen yogurt. Perfect for lighter meal, but won't go away hungry.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank obstetricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Breaking the drought”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Crossing the Mid and South West is a bit of a junk food odyssey. By the time we'd followed Route 66 from Tucumcari to Albuquerque through a snow cloud, we were wanting some decent tucker. We pulled up at a Starbucks and used the free wifi while we sipped a thankful latte to check out the vegetarian lunch options.

Sweet tomatoes sounded good, and oh boy, when we got there it was heaven on a stick! Such a vast range of salads and soups and breads and desserts. Take your choice, have your fill!

Good healthy eating, freshly made, sparkling fresh ingredients. It was fairly busy, but we took that as a good sign. People were cheerful, many of them looked like regulars, and if we ever come back this way, we'll be eating at Sweet Tomatoes again!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“A giant salad bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2008

Sweet Tomatoes is a line-up to get your salad place—a giant salad bar with a few other items. The salad items are consistently fresh, the restaurant is clean, the choices are abundant, and there are plenty of tables. No reason whatsoever to not like the salad you construct.

In addition there are a variety of soups, some bread, warm pizza, and potatoes. I particularly like their house chili. Also, prices are moderate and you can load up on yogurt for desert.

Helpful?
1 Thank lobo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing