We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Mexican - Awesome tamales!”

El Modelo Mexican Foods
Ranked #41 of 1,766 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $5
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
156 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican - Awesome tamales!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

All the food here is take out. We made it shortly before closing time on a Friday night, and it is obviously a favorite with the locals. We had tamales with adovada sauce. It was very flavorful and SPICY! Don't get the adovada unless you like it hot. :) Great chile relleno and stuffed sopapillas. If we lived here we would eat here at least once a month. VERY GOOD!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dede V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    35
    7
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Stuffed sopapillas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband I come here for the stuffed sopapillas, they are awesome. I've been wanting to try the tamales but I haven't yet. If you want a fancy restaurant don't come here but if you're looking for a good sopapilla fix this is the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great take out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

El Modelo has great food! Throughout the years have tried everything! Be sure to get extra napkins, it is messy, but so delicious! Place is always busy and they give you large portions. Worth driving a little farther too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Poodml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Albuquerque treat for New Mexican eats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you you want your standard dining experience stay away. This place is like stepping in to Mexico the food is all to go with some seating outside. The menu is basic but we found the food to be very fresh and extremely flavorful. The stuff sopapilias were great with shredded pork and the chili Renos where really great too! This is a very hussle bustle establishment -they sell a lot of food here. They prices were great as well!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 59daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing real New Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

If you want a taste of real New Mexican food come here. The food is amazing and a favorite among locals. However, this is a take out restaurant with seats only available outside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bbyhulk911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Modelo Mexican Foods also viewed

 

Been to El Modelo Mexican Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing