We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Japanese Food ~ REFRESHING!”

Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar
Ranked #282 of 1,769 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Uptown
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
442 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Food ~ REFRESHING!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are a Japanese foodie and are in the Albuquerque, NM area, this is your #1 destination spot. The food and presentation is authentic Japanese with superb artistic touches. The restaurant design provides for an intimate dining atmosphere, has both booths & tables, rich tasteful colors, and contemporary clean lines. Most importantly, the entire restaurant itself is very CLEAN. The food portions were ample and generous for the reasonable prices charged. We ordered a variety of food and everything was delicious and well prepared. We have dined at most of the Japanese restaurants in ABQ and so far, Japanese Kitchen is the best and cleanest. You will also like the general area where this restaurant is located, it's upscale, you can walk around the area at night and feel safe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldSprinter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    8
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Firstly, you need to know that there are two restaurants with teh same name next to each other in this office plaza near the Marriott and Hilton. One is the steak place and the other is the sushi. They are owned by the same company.

We ate at teh sushi place and tried multiple samples fo various foods Everything was quite good but not spectacular. The miso soup was a bit saltier than Im used to but tasty.

I found the prices quite reasonable, especially considering that Albuquerque is no where near an ocean.

Service was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmberK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great teppan grill”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Japanese Kitchen in Albuquerque has two sections-- sushi restaurant and teppan grill. We ate at the teppan grill. There are many similar restaurants, typified by the Benihana chain. All have more or less the same food, and we always have the same thing-- filet mignon. This restaurant simply had the best prepared meat of any we have experienced. The chef's theatrics were above average also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sudstattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi in the Desert”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is one of the best sushi places in Albuquerque and it is owned and operated by Japanese people - a big plus! The fish is fresh, the presentation is very pretty and the servers are very nice and helpful. Love the eel rolls and shrimp tempura rolls here. You can't go wrong with Japanese Kitchen

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank elbee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We decided to eat here because we wanted sushi & it was in walking distance of our hotel. We should have done some research. We ordered 6 different rolls. Only one was above average. Kids all ordered fried rice & even it was below average. We would not eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kpodsednik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Japanese Kitchen Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing