We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else”
Review of Quarters BBQ

Quarters BBQ
Ranked #1,153 of 1,768 Restaurants in Albuquerque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
456 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This BBQ restaurant has seen better days. You walk directly into a tired bar, where the patrons stare vacantly into a mirror, downing their drinks. This is not a cheery bar, this is people drowning their sorrows.

There is another area for dining. The sandwiches were awful, just an embarrassment for a BBQ joint. My smoked turkey BBQ was that thinly sliced stuff they sell in the supermarket for lunches, on a plain old hamburger bun. The sauce was good, the the sandwich was a very poor quality. There was a nice 'side' salad.

The servers were doing their best, but the furniture was tired, damaged, and supported by dirty napkins shoved under the wobbling legs. The carpets need a good wash. The whole place has a tired, dirty feel and it is a pity.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Intlxpatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    16
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“tangy-yumm”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Quarters has absolutely the BEST SAUCE and best BBQ in Albuquerque.! Rudy's vinegar based pepper sauce is horrible and Powdrels' meat is tough and lukewarm.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vald0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Great atmosphere, very good food. Go in the summer and eat on the patio. Wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank AliciaCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
“Bad Customer Service”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is the second time that the manager Theresa at the Yale Restaurant has been rude to me. I am starting to think that she is prejudiced towards Hispanics. I want into the store yesterday (12-19-2011) i was the first one there and 5 minutes later when she came out of who knows where. She started helping others. That's not the first time she has totally looked past me. The last time she forgot my order. I waited 30 minutes before she came back to ask me what my order was. The thing to do is ask who was here first, As a manager you would think that she has the Customer Service Skills. Unfortunately Theresa Does not. Theresa is Rude. I love the Quarters food. I recently moved here from the North East Heights. I would always go to the Wyoming store.The always treated me real good over there.. I have lived in Albuquerque for many years and have never complained about the service at a restaurant. Theresa from the Quarters, Or any one that knows her. Please let her know that she should buy a book on Customer Service Skills. Maybe you will learn some manners

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not as good as we remember”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Couldn't visit Albuquerque without a meal at the Quarters. It is an institution and very popular. The Wyoming location has a wonderful old fashioned decor and large dining area. Lots of families and large parties come to celebrate birthdays and special occasions. Be prepared for a noisy experience, but the receptionist will find you a less noisy table upon request.

The ribs were a little tough and smothered in sauce, smaller than we remember. Enjoyed the mac and cheese. Very generous portions. Respectable margarita. Service was great despite a busy dining room.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HumminAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quarters BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Quarters BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing