We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Fun Atmosphere, Good Service--who could ask for more?”

Orchid Thai Cuisine
Ranked #107 of 1,769 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fun Atmosphere, Good Service--who could ask for more?”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Thai Orchid menu is overwhelming!!! BUT once you get past that, it opens the door for a wonderful dining experience. We started with an appetizer--the Pu Pu platter. A bit expensive and not that impressive, I would definitely save the belly room for the entrees! The schezwan eggplant is simply to die for!!! The texture, the flavor, the sauce--absolutely perfect! The noodle dishes have generous servings with a good amount of meat and the flavor is outstanding. You MUST save room for the mango and sticky rice dessert. I would even make the trip just for that as it is so wonderful. The restaurant decor is dated to say the least and a bit on the bawdy side but it adds fun to the overall dining experience. Wait service is great. The food is prepared upon order so it make take a bit. Have a Sake while you wait!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deidre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    10
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently good and inexpensive”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We eat here a lot for lunch because it's usually quick service and it's always about $12 for both of us!
One bit of advice though... if you tell them that you like it "really spicy", you had better REALLY like it spicy. Best burn-your-face-off Kung Pao in town, though :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Mendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have eaten here many times. The food is consistantly good. I've tried lots of items on the menu, and it's hard to pick a favorite. I will say that the Thai chicken soup is awesome.
The menu is huge, and it is hard to decide!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stracci2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Thai food”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We love Thai food and this restaurant did pretty well in our ratings. We had Chicken Green Curry, Tom Kha Gai soup, Chicken Red Curry, Tofu Masaman Curry and Mango with Sticky Rice for Dessert. It was all excellent except that my daughter was a little disappointed with the Masaman Curry--it just didn't seem as flavorful as the others. The atmosphere was very nice and the service attentive. Definitely worth the stop if you are craving Thai in a place that is mostly famous for its chile. Of course, nothing beats eating Thai food in Thailand, but we settle for what we can.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marci1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find for Thai food”
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Friendly efficient staff. Low prices. Unpretentious great place for Thai

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Preston W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Orchid Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing