We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good- but not Tex-Mex” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pinto

El Pinto
Reserve with OpenTable
El Pinto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,778 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Alameda Blvd NW
Canton
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Good- but not Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We explained we were from Texas and they brought us samples of the green and red sauce. Very different then anything I had before but I liked it. Great patio, good service and plentiful helpings make this a must do again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    505
    305
    97
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enchilada Verdes es muy bueno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My all time favorite green chile cheese enchiladas! Get a table outside. Fun, family restaurant. Don't miss out on sopapillas for dessert!

Helpful?
Thank Hikingbennette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This restaurant is a little off the beaten path but defiantly worth the travel. Great specials, nice staff and some of those traditional New Mexico dishes that are to die for and the prices are reasonable. Im an old time local, and when ever Im in back in my home town I always make it to El Pinto. Good service, great atmosphere definitely an enjoyable to hand out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Lovely evening at El Pinto. Staff is inviting, restaurant is clean and nicely decorated with an outdoor fire stove for heat and a large waterfall. No complaints on anyone's meal and overall just a relaxing place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Kimberdny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always our restaurant of choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our family has been going to El Pinto since we moved to Albuquerque in the '70's. It has been the site of many family dinners, birthday dinners, graduation dinners -- and was the perfect choice for our 50th anniversary celebration for our parents. It has grown and changed over the years but is still a must stop for our family on visits to Albuquerque.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank N U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Pinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing