We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Careful!”
Review of El Pinto

El Pinto
Reserve with OpenTable
El Pinto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,768 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Alameda Blvd NW
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Be Careful!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Be warned! Their idea of "mild" is enough for to burn chrome off of a bumper! There is no such thing as mild in this place. Good food otherwise and atmosphere is beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NBethS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    520
    310
    102
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm a native New Mexican and grew up just down the street, so I know New Mexico food. And I used to play in the old house next door where the salsa factory now sits.

It's unfortunate but El Pinto has succumbed to the Anglo-Saxon tourist tastebud!

I raved about this place to my boyfriend this past weekend that it was the best New Mexican food ever and I ended up having to make excuses and swallow my words by the end of the night.

The red chile has lost its bite. The green chile has lost its bite. The tamales had absolutely NO meat.
We asked the waiter to bring us a new batch of tamales and they were no different. NO MEAT!

The ambiance is still fantastic but the food has gone downhill. This is not representative of native New Mexico chile.

I wish the owners would read this and go back to what their roots!!

It's unfortunate that once a place becomes known to tourists, it loses it's appeal rapidly.
The same is true for Old Town Plaza.

So sad for El PInto. It had such a fantastic history.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent patio”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were seated on the outdoor patio one evening. The patio was under large vigas with vine shading, a fountain, and music which made for a delightful meal. They have done a great job with the outdoor seating areas. The food is good, but a bit pricey for New Mexican fare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Z06Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ambiance and Service”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

El Pinto is a fabulous restaurant on the West side of Albuquerque. The restaurant is multi roomed with outdoor patios as well. The wait staff is excellent, friendly, and attentive. The sopapillas with honey are incredibly yummy, and the house margaritas are very tasty too. The cost may be a little high for Mexican food, but the ambiance is worth a splurge now and again. If you're passing through town, it's a must to stop and eat here. You won't be disappointed that you came.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Food always good but too expensive”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have eaten here for over 30 years and like the food but find it too expensive to go there very often.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Pinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing