We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pinto

El Pinto
Reserve with OpenTable
El Pinto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,778 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Alameda Blvd NW
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
250 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

huge parking lot and charming decor. divided into rooms for a cozy feeling. our group of 25 was given their own room so we could move around and talk easily. generous portions at a great price. try the fried green chilies - not hot and very tasty. i had the chicken aconada which is marinated chicken breast and very tender and tasty. everyone enjoyed their food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank melemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    506
    305
    97
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went for lunch and stayed through Happy Hour! A very large selection of tequila's and a great taco bar is available during Happy Hour. The El Pinto Double Barrel Reposado is definitely a great choice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Binsky1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved the patio and food. On my list for every trip to Albuquerque. The food is excellent and the service just right. A great spot to enjoy a meal and relax.

Helpful?
Thank usma73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Two of my friends took my elderly father and I to El Pinto at 7:00 on a Saturday evening to celebrate my birthday. Because there were only four of us, we could not get a reservation. We had about a 15 minute wait to be seated. That seemed to work out just fine for our needs. My father walks slowly, so we lost the hostess as we were being seated, but a friend found her and we were seated in a nice quiet area. It was apparently the patio area when used in warm weather. They had temporary (movable walls up and a fireplace) to make the area usable. It was a little chilly, but when a friend asked a waiter to turn on the heat, they were able to do so and heated our area quickly and nicely. It was a nice area in which to sit. It was cozy and quiet enough for all of use to hear one another as we conversed.

The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. Our waiter Stephen, was able to help us each choose the menu item that most fitted our needs. My father had the baked chicken which he enjoyed very much. My friends had the Taco Salad and baked Salmon which all looked scrumptious. I had the Vegetarian Combo plate which was very tasty. At the end of our meal, Stephen brought us some Flan with a birthday candle for us to share in celebration of my day.

El Pinto is certainly high on my list of places to eat out at to celebrate a happy occasion, as long as that occasion is not Mother's Day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbuquerqueMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL...IN EVERY WAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

No matter if you come here for the food or the atmosphere, you won't be disappointed. The variety of dining "settings"...from the friendly bar to the gorgeous patios to the cozy rooms...El Pinto will make your meal or event fabulous. The sopapillas are excellent and come with EVERY meal...even if you just order appetizers...very unique in New Mexico. The salsa is legendary and the chips are great...once again, served even if you only want an appetizer. My husband and I usually order the Chicken Quisadilla appetizer and SHARE it...it's enormous and delicious. Even with sharing, we take some home...amazing for us. The prices are fair and the portions huge. It's our "go to" place when we want to impress visitors with great, typical NM food in a beautiful setting. The vast array of photos of famous people who have eaten here is daunting...Sara Palin, John McCain, B. Obama, Joe Tyson, etc....fun to just look at the photos while waiting for your table...yes! there is almost always a wait, so be prepared and don't be discouraged. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msbiztoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Pinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing