We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food! glorious food”

Monroe's Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 1,870 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Delicious,authentic New Mexican Food served by our unique team concept waiting style. Family owned since 1962. Come check us out in the Northeast Heights as well: WE HAVE ANOTHER LOCATION at 6051 Osuna Rd. NE Albuquerque, NM!!!
Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

My favorite place to eat in Albuquerque. The chile (yes, that is spelled correctly) sauces are spot on, and I've never had a better sopapilla.

If you have food allergies give them a call. I can't have anything with meat because they use a blend of oils that contains soy on their grill, but I can have my favorite dish of all time so it's all good - I get their cheese enchiladas with red chile sauce, beans and rice (and of course a sopapilla for desert).

Hubby loves their combination platter, especially when he subs out the tamale for a relleno. When ordering the combination platter come hungry, because it is a lot of good Mexican food. Kind of like going to grandma's, you sit down and the food just keeps coming, thought at least here they don't expect you to clean your plate if you can't finish it.

Just make sure you get a sopapilla, plain, and ask for honey. You'll thank me.

Thank wenrich2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, General Manager at Monroe's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2016

Thank you for making us one of your favorite stops and for the great review. We will keep the chile,chili,chilly cooking and see you the next time you are in. Have a great weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 731 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2016

The staff was very friendly and the food was very good as well. We thoroughly enjoyed eating lunch here. It is not fancy, but it was very good. Hopefully we will get a chance to return in the future. The prices were very reasonable as well. If you are looking for a no thrills good meal, this is a good place to go.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 46,749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, General Manager at Monroe's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2016

Thank you for coming in and thanks for taking time to leave a review. Have a great weekend and we will see you again soon. Merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2016

I had previously written a review of the Monroe's on Osuna Road, NE, Albuqueruqe, NM. This is a review of the original restaurant near Old Town. It is a small restaurant with an adjunct for customer overflow. The site is ever alive with customers who patronize Monroe's on a continuing basis. The Wait Staff changes as they switch between this and the Osuna site on a regular basis, but they all know the regular customers by name and are outstanding in their attentiveness. The kitchen is equal to the sister site on Osuna and the menu is exactly the same. My original assertion that Monroe's is the BEST New Mexican restaurant in Albuquerque, remains firm. From Management, to Kitchen, to Wait Staff, the operation is "well oiled" and the food outstanding. This Monroe's location may be small, but their quality is on a par with the newer and larger site on Osuna. Their "homey" atmosphere makes the site seem much larger in size. Almost a hidden restaurant jewel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, General Manager at Monroe's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2016

William, thank you for your business at both stores and your review. We will keep oiling this machine and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a great week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Great Family atmosphere and hearty portions make this a local favorite. Fill up here before you get to Old Town and save yourself some bucks. Carne Adovada is excellent and may be habit forming!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank yeznef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, General Manager at Monroe's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2016

Thank you for your business and for your kind review. Have a happy Thanksgiving. We will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016

I've been going to Monroe's for over 30 years - sometimes 2 times a week. Good, honest food - great staff. Green chile cheeseburgers are wonderful and you can't beat enchiladas and eggs. Oh, and don't forget the guaco-taco plate.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MBAbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, General Manager at Monroe's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2016

Thank you for being a regular part of our Monroe's family and thank you for reviewing us. Have a safe and happy Thanksgiving and we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monroe's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Monroe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing