We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Multiple Good Experiences”
Review of Church Street Cafe

Church Street Cafe
Ranked #19 of 1,768 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West Old Town
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Multiple Good Experiences”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at the Church Street Cafe numerous times and always direct out-of-town friends and family there when they visit. At first I thought it was a small (cramped) restaurant, but it is actually quite large passed the first dinning area. If you visit when the weather is nice, ask to be seated out on the back patio area otherwise ask for a seat in the back room. I prefer the breakfast menu, but you can find some great lunch items too. The service can be hit or miss. I've had some of the best service there, but I've also had one or two lackluster servers. As the cafe is located in a tourist spot, the prices are a little higher than you would expect (though not ridiculously overpriced). Occasionally, musicians play in the restaurant and the back patio which is a real treat, especially when the musician is guitarist Ronaldo Baca. We've had a small event at the restaurant and had a wonderful time and the service and food was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrChrisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    606
    244
    112
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Historic, good value”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Our motel owner recommended church cafe & it was not disappointing. The very old building was decorated beautifully for Christmas, & although we got off to a slow start service- wise, our server made up for it with a complimentary queso dip & a good attitude. Food & margaritas were delicious & portions super generous for a very economical price. Would recommend & definitely return on a future trip to ABQ

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca, Arkansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice cultural Albuquerque dining experience”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The combination of cultural ambience and the excellent Mexican food made this restaurant a big winner in our book during a week-long stay in Albuquerque. We enjoyed it so much, we dined there three times! We particularly loved sitting in the fireplace room with its floor-to-ceiling Christmas tree. The only reason I did not give CSC 5 stars is because I felt the margaritas were a little on the "mass production" side in terms of taste. But, the tamales and guacamole? Bravo! Bonus perk: the restaurant is located in historic Old Town, which makes visiting the restaurant an added pleasure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We end up at this place because the High Noon was too high dollar. It came recommended by our High Noon server. When you walk into the place it appears very small, but after a few turns, it opened into a beautiful serving room with a real wood fireplace. The NM Beer options were tasty and the strawberry margarita awesome.... But the food... WAS out of this world!! I was running short of time, but would definitely have lingered over a couple more beer and margaritas. And maybe had dessert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 184Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

For authentic New Mexican food in a friendly comfortable atmosphere you can't beat The Church Street Care! The fahitas were fresh and tasty. I had the steak and my wife had the vegetarian and we both enjoyed them immensely. The cafe also featured a good selection of wines and local herpes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeDavis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Church Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing