We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food--Beautiful Building”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Church Street Cafe

Church Street Cafe
Ranked #19 of 1,763 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West Old Town
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food--Beautiful Building”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The food was good and the setting is in a beautiful, historically-significant building. The service was relatively quick, but I was there well after the lunch rush. The history of the building is quite amazing. My only complaint is that they try to take the menus away from you, which explains the building's history.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    597
    244
    110
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No Praying Here - Just Good Eats”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great food right behind the oldest Church in North Amercia ... Great New Mexican Food, Great red chile sauce... make sure and get an egg on top of your enchiladas ... great dining outside in the patio ..you will love the experiance ... hmmmmmmmmmmm !!!!! :o)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rqball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio and good food.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice mix of Mexican and American food. Nice to have American choices when you've been eating New Mexican cuisine for almost a week. The garden patio was really beautiful and relaxing. The house margarita was decent. The service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethRossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Try the Old Fashioned Chile Rellenos!!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

While wandering around Old Town recently, we found this restaurant. Had heard it was good, and it did not disappoint. My companion had a burrito smothered in green, and I had the Old Fashioned Chile Rellenos which were very different from any other version of this dish I have tried. And these were wonderful-very filling and delicious. I chose an unusual side available that evening-sautéed spinach, and it was a perfect addition to the rich Rellenose which were stuffed with both meat and cheese before being battered and fried. And I was almost too stuffed to have the sopaipillo and honey but never pass these by. We were seated in a cozy little room with many Navajo rugs and other local art works decorating the walls and furniture. Our server was excellent and attentive. Next time we're in Albuquerque, we'll be back to this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msburddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy & Friendly”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Was recommended by the ABQ Trolly & it didnot disappoint. Great meal, had the taco salad & my husband had hard shell taco's and all was full of flavor and presented well. Love the "christmas" choice of the chilli's, just the right amount of heat to add to the meal. It was a lunchtime crowd so it was busy but service was excellent, fast & accurate & server was awesome (yep mind dump on name-a nice gentlemen). Ate there a second time & found it to be just as good, went at a quieter time but all was exactly the same, added a margarita and that was really good. Just a nice place to relax & enjoy a good mexican meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank OGirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Church Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing