We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food”

Garduno's of Mexico
Ranked #83 of 1,769 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Uptown
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The only reason to come here is for the mariachis. The food is awful and definitely not authentic. Many times, our food was served cold too. An alright place to drink margaritas but the food sucks.

Helpful?
Thank beachmamaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    99
    37
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superior Mexican Food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

HOLY MOLY! Compared to the old Garduno's of days gone buy, the food was excellent. Service was great and the experience was far beyond our expectations. I know that there is talk about Tex-Mex versus New Mex but look, just go into the restaurant and enjoy the experience and the food. Most people do not really know the difference between the two styles of cooking and covering something with red or green does not necessarily constitute good food. Try the deep south mexican food and you will see the difference....Well off my soap box. Surroundings, food, drinks and servers......Kudos on it all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
167 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“I Miss the Old Garduno's..”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Ah!! the good ol' days...when you could get a wonderful meal at this Albuquerque bedrock restaurant. After they took a beating from an inside embezzler, they closed down for a while. We all missed it...especially those great Sunday brunches and the airport location. When Garduno's finally reopened, we were excited and ready for some good NM fare. Alas, that did not happen. The brunch was boring, cold dishes hot; hot dishes cold, not the friendly great service we had come to expect. I guess all the good cooks/waitstaff migrated elsewhere. So will we. Sorry...you can't give reviews on yesteryear. If they get rid of the "cooks" and bring in "chefs" and re-train/replace staff, this gem might rise up from the ashes one day. I gave it a "3" because of old times sake...it really deserved a "2".

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msbiztoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as before”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This restaurant was owned by local people until about 2 years ago. It had financial problems and was sold but the name remained. It is still the same basic restaurant, tastefully decorated, good food. But some of the atmosphere is gone now. And no more mariachi bands coming around to your table - quite sad!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2go4world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
300 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“More Tex Mex than New Mex”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Garduno's was recommended by the front desk clerk at our hotel. Almost didn't find it. While the address is on Louisiana, the actual restaurant sits a couple blocks east near the back of the old Winrock complex. I think it was a Wednesday night and the place was busy but not packed. I was hungry and ordered a platter with four or five items. A couple things were fairly good, but most was just average. And except for the green chile, things seemed more TexMex than NewMex. My wife had a smaller dinner, but wasn't any happier with hers.
It may have been an off might in ghe kitchen, but we didn't see anything to justify its popularity. The draw may be the bar for the after work crowd. After two or three drinks, their food doesn't have to be too good. Or is it just a tourist trap that pays the local hotel desk staff to send business their way.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wfgjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garduno's of Mexico also viewed

 

Been to Garduno's of Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing