We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back on track”

Garduno's of Mexico
Ranked #73 of 1,766 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Uptown
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Back on track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are regulars here...usually 2-3 times per month because of convenient location. After a long period of adjusting, it seems that the Winrock restaurant is back on track. The food is now very good. Unfortunately, the lunch specials have been dropped. This leaves only the Taco Bar buffet as the only reasonably priced option at lunch. Come on guys--make smaller portions and return the lunch menu. Dinner menu (lunch also if you don't go to the Taco Bar) is excellent...but expensive for ABQ New Mexican...I guess it is somewhat justified by the large portions. The red is especially good. Don't forget to ask for the tomatillo salsa!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    98
    37
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always a fun place to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The service was excellent. The food was delicious! My family always wants to eat at Gardunos when we travel to Albuquerque, New Mexico.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chile4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's okay for happy hour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is your normal, run-of-the-mill Mexican restaurant. In my opinion, there are (much) better local Mexican restaurants. This one feels too big-chain, although the food is good. Happy hour is the best because they have a free mini buffet table, but in terms of a real meal, I'd skip it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location! Food ok...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I had a shredded beef chimi with chili blanco. My husband ordered a seafood chimi also with chili blanco. Mine came out without the sauce and no sour cream. Our entire order was warm not hot and it looked like it was sitting a bit before being brought out. Once I had my sauce and dug in I truly enjoyed my meal. My husband thought his was mediocre. The margaritas were very tasty but a little pricey for being on the smaller side ($9 each). Other than the food sitting a bit our server was very attentive and he came by often. He wasn't the one who brought our food out anyways. I'll probably return if we are in the mood for Mexican food. If not there are numerous other restaurants within walking distance to our hotel (Marriott).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmlhigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really tasty New Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ate here twice over the weekend, once for dinner, ordered off the menu and once for the sunday brunch. The portions were big for dinner and the fish was good and the blue enchiladas as well. The brunch buffet was really good for a buffet. Too many choices so I ate too much. All of it tasted good. They have live music after noon or so. We left to catch our plane so didn't get to see it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank fwbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garduno's of Mexico also viewed

 

Been to Garduno's of Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing