We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal & good time”

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Ranked #213 of 1,766 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Uptown
NM
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always a good meal & good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Impressed with the food here. My husband expected the alfredo to be 'lame' as he put it, but we were both surprised by the quality. It's a lively atmosphere & get a bit loud - maybe that's authentic Italian? There is an a capella singer doing a solo about every half hour, and cute Italian language 'lessons' playing in the restrooms. Love the crusty bread with seasoned olive oil for dipping.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rsocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    56
    28
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food & good plating.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The service was attentive without being a nuisance. The large bottle of 'honor system' table wine was quite palatable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hititout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The house wine, served in a tumbler glass is very good. The food in very good and they always have new and interesting menu items to try. The servers are all a lot of fun and they can work hard for the customers. They have a full bar with several small televisions where one can watch any channel they ask for. I was there eating for an hour and a half and never felt rushed. In fact the waitress was very hospitable no matter how busy she was. The food really is of a great quality for such a large restaurant chain. Usually I do not go to restaurants that are not family owned and local but this one is a great exception. They are also en e-awards restaurant which I use as much as I can. This really is a great place for the loner like me, the couple, or the family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Much Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I used to really like Macaroni Grill when we lived in Arizona but the quality seemed to decline a bit and we were turned off. But quality seems to have improved to original levels that made us like Macaroni Grill. There are better italian rester aunts, but this is the best of the chains and this is a good one in Albuquerque...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobBNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We've enjoyed Macaroni Grills in California and expected the same experience in Albuquerque. We were really hungry for some Veal Scallopine. Everything else about the restaurant was great. We've always enjoyed their "formula" so we just relaxed with a glass of wine and waited for our food. We knew from the first cut that something was wrong. The veal was tough . . . really tough. That's what happens when the chef doesn't pound/tenderize the meat. The sauce was delicious, as was the rest of the plate, but the meat was a huge disappointment. The restaurant apologized profusely and comped our meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing