We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food & nice place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artichoke Cafe

Artichoke Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Artichoke Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,778 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Huning Highland Historic District
Description: The Artichoke Cafe was reopened in 1989 by Pat and Terry Keene. Pat, who was formally trained in New York City, is executive chef and Terry has 30 years experience in restaurant management. Their dedication to the best in food, wine, and service has made this 120 seat restaurant one of Albuquerque's finest dining spots. Its downtown location on Route 66 in the Historic Huning Highland/EDO District, cozy modern decor and rotating art exhibits add panache and charm to its ambience. The food is a mix of French, Italian, and creative American, using only the finest ingredients.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
821 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 866 helpful votes
“Good food & nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good food & nice place!
Artichoke café has a nice ambiance and the service is excellent. Food is not cheap, but it is very nicely presented and tastes very good.
The café is pretty big has about three sections. It was not very full today at lunch.
I had a grilled lamb Greek salad, which had a nice piece of lamb cooked rare and also with baked eggplant. My friend had one of the several mouth-watering lunch specials, scallops, which looked delicious! There were also great disserts on the menu along with good after meal drinks. They were all not cheap!
I would like to go there again for dinner to experience the evening atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    172
    61
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
252 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“The best of our trip to ABQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our first trip to ABQ and stayed downtown. The restaurant selection in the area was limited for dinner. The Artichoke seemed a little too high and a little too formal for our needs on this trip. We were looking for good food, informal atmosphere, and slightly romantic. Oh what a good choice Artichoke turned out to be for all of that. We both had Salmon, that was a house special for the evening and it was truly excellent. Followed by apple bread pudding with two spoons for dessert. They accepted my suitcase creased casual clothing and I saw the same outfit on a few others, perhaps professors or tourist like ourselves. Get this - they did not flinch when I order an Irish cream ale instead of wine. How nice is that???

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelloJoeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enchanting Oasis in the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were introduced to this restaurant by family members and enjoyed every minute of our time together in the lovely atmosphere surrounding us. It's not often one can find a place that will accommodate all of the various types of clientele. - date nights, family, friends, business and solo. Yet that is exactly what we saw around us. While the ambiance, service and clientele were 5 star, I rated this a 4 star because I found the food very good but not outstanding. I had the salmon special for the night and would have liked a little more sauce and flavoring added to the dish to give it that "wow" factor. Regardless, I would definitely make a return visit next time I'm in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

To be honest we'd put off going here for over 1 year.. We were given a gift certificate by family from out of town who have never even been to Albuquerque.

The first big plus was the parking lot that was manned.. I worried about leaving my car prior to knowing that.

Next the atmosphere and the food... Friendly staff, and fresh tablecloths (albeit covered with paper). I had the lamb and she had the tenderloin. Meats were of good quality and portions although not small were enough to leave room for desert.

Decent but small wine list.

We will be back (before another year - this time)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Consistent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

They have many of the same staff that have been there for years. We don't get away from the kids too much, but this is a nice place to come, relax with just the right lighting. The service knows when to interrupt and when to not interfere with the conversation. They change the menu up from time to time, but they are very consistent in what they do well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mickeyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artichoke Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Artichoke Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing