We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUM”
Review of Artichoke Cafe

Artichoke Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Artichoke Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,768 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Huning Highland Historic District
Description: The Artichoke Cafe was reopened in 1989 by Pat and Terry Keene. Pat, who was formally trained in New York City, is executive chef and Terry has 30 years experience in restaurant management. Their dedication to the best in food, wine, and service has made this 120 seat restaurant one of Albuquerque's finest dining spots. Its downtown location on Route 66 in the Historic Huning Highland/EDO District, cozy modern decor and rotating art exhibits add panache and charm to its ambience. The food is a mix of French, Italian, and creative American, using only the finest ingredients.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YUM”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Elegant dining for lunch or dinner. Pricey but the food is always outstanding and the servers are experienced and give great attention to detail.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    174
    63
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
141 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just a wonderful experience in every way”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was fitting that we ate at Artichoke Cafe our last night in New Mexico because it seems we saved the best for last. What was funny was that we had originally intended to eat somewhere else but couldn't get in. They recommended that we try the Artichoke Cafe.

The restaurant is fairly large but because of the way it is broken up it seems far more intimate than you would expect. The settings are elegant and functional and just seemed to be exactly right.

The hostess and the server were friendly and helpful. The server was available to answer questions and provide advice on the dishes and the wine. The wine list is extensive and I ended up going with the recommended pairings, which apparently was a good choice because they were excellent.

We each had a different salad and both were terrific. We chose entrees of the ravioli off the menu and the salmon off the daily specials. The dishes were very well presented and the tastes were among the best restaurant meals we had had in a long time. We informed the server that it was going to hit our top ten list from 35 years of seeking and enjoying good food.

Rounded off with the chocolate torte and a great cup of coffee it was almost the perfect restaurant experience. Even the price was appropriate given all that we had consumed. We have paid far more for food that we didn't enjoy nearly so much.

We have to give this restaurant the strongest of recommendations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NotLostFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quality, creativity at a good price”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had dinner here with a group of 8 people. The service was prompt, friendly and knowledgable. The food is refined and well executed. The restaurant is 'business casual', meaning you don't really need to dress up, but you would feel a little out of place in shorts and flipflops. The place works well for business, but I think the atmosphere is also well suited to a nice date.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary here and it was a nice meal. Had steamed artichokes with 3 different sauces for appetizer, beef tenderloin and rock fish for dinner, and flourless chocolate cake for dessert. They have an extensive wine list, but it was too much to read before the waiter before the waiter wanted our order.
Everything was good but nothing was roll-over-and-thrash-good. We give it 7 out of 10 stars.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSpringfield_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a rush”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have been to the artichoke cafe several times with a friend. We do like to catch up but it feels like the waiter can't wait to turnover the table. The food was good but the portions were small for the price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caterina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artichoke Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Artichoke Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing