We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now that is a steak”

Monte Carlo Steak House
Ranked #56 of 1,769 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Now that is a steak”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had a porterhouse steak that I did not even need a knife for is was so tender and rich in flavor that I wanted to eat another one but I was to full. this steak house should be featured on TV for its flavor and the staff makes you feel welcomed, although they were very busy when I got there they came right over and told me about their specials and informed me a a slight wait because of the packed house but it was only 10 min. which was fine with us. When the food came everyone at the table was blown away by the overwelming flavor the steak had. I love this place and plan on going back many times...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    92
    24
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Steaks!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good old fashioned steak house. Great steaks and spirits. Always see someone you know. They don't have much turn over so the wait staff is consistent.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
333 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place was recommended to us. Don't let the atmosphere fool you. It appears to be an older restaurant and building, but the service and food were excellent. We did not find the prices to be unreasonable. Three of us had a 10 oz ribeye with salad, baked potato and texas toast. It was priced at $15.95. It was well worth it. There were 10 of us and all enjoyed the food. We would recommend to others also.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollingst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad, bad and bad”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Saw this restaurant on Dinner, Drive - Ins and Dives and thought I had to go visit it while in Albuquerque for the Balloon Fiesta. Took a group of friends and we all order the the steak special and it was the worst steak I think I have had in the last 10 years. The steak had no, repeat, no seasoning on it at all. I know I'm from Texas and we have great steaks but this was bad, bad and bad. I could not even complete the meal.

The atmosphere was good but food bad. Not sure Guy from Dinner, Drive - Ins and Dives knows what he is talking about.

Stay away if you are looking for good steak.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PlanoMark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've been coming here for a number of years and have yet to have a bad meal. Their chicken is awesome, but their steak special is well worth any wait you incur.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Carlo Steak House also viewed

 
Albuquerque, NM
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Monte Carlo Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing