We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Basil Leaf Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #113 of 1,763 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant has been open for at least 2 years in this location.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Basil Leaf is a gem. It has great food, a great atmosphere, and great staff...what a wonderful find! The menu is filled with taste treats, and the food is so so fresh, like all good Vietnamese food should be!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CuyArtOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very nice place, great food, and perfect service (pretty affordable too)”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Went here today, based on TA ratings. Four of us ordered 4 meals, and I tried 3 of them. All were great. Did not really care for the crepe with pork stuffing (taste is good, but difficult to handle).
Thai tea was awesome!
The staff was perfect. Helpful, but not annoying.
Will return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
830 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 891 helpful votes
“Mediocre Vietnamese food”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I am sorry to say that this was yet another overblown recommendation on Tripadvisor that turned out to be flat out mediocre. Albuquerque has much better Vietnamese food than what is served here.

We arrived around 6.30 p.m. and shortly afterwards the place was filling up. There were just two waitress and a waiter for the whole restaurant. The lady seemed to be doing everything, waiting on, cash register etc. There was a busboy cleaning up later on. Needless to say that it was very hard to get the attention of the waiters. The service was poor, but they all were very friendly

We ordered papaya salad with beef and shrimps and it was very dull. I asked myself if the cook was at all Vietnamese because I have never had such a tasteless salad in any Vietnamese place in the US or in Asia. We also ordered a combination soup, which also turned out to be just a large bowl of white noodles in a liquid with little taste. Dissatisfied with both, I ordered a grilled pork with brown rice and it was a bit better, but looked like it would have fallen from a vending machine. The only saving grace was that the food was, at least, not expensive. For a glass of wine, two beers and three dishes, we paid only $40.

This dinner was a total disappointment, and we would never try this place again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy and friendly service ”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful spring rolls and delicious soup went nicely with the perfect green curry and other dishes... The people were friendly especially considering we had young children, who by the way loved the food.

Helpful?
Thank EmilyCrutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were visiting Albuquerque and wanted a change from Mexican food. This restaurant had positive reviews on Tripadvisor so we decided to give it a try. Service was fast and friendly and prices were reasonable.
Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Born2Travel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Leaf Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 
Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Basil Leaf Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing