We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no more driving by wondering how the food is”

Basil Leaf Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #98 of 1,768 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant has been open for at least 2 years in this location.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“no more driving by wondering how the food is”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have been driving by this restaurant for years. This evening my daughter and I wanted something different so we stopped in to try it out. What a great surprise, very clean inside, service was good. and the food was great! I am not good at remembering what I had (as far as what it is called but) I had a #45 with tofu it has green bell peppers and onion's in a not to spicy sauce. with white rice, a win. also tried the Avocado milk shake. it was not what I thought that it would taste like, there again a pleasant surprise. This restaurant is on my go back to list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    32
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This restaurant was close to our hotel and had received excellent reviews so we decided to give it a try. The food was great and the service fast and friendly. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a healthy meal in Albuquerque.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tosawest74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Healthy delicious food and great service!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I don't live in ABQ but did try two Vietnamese restaurants the last time I was in town visiting. This place is, by far, the best Vietnamese place I've tried - in ABQ and elsewhere. I really appreciate the fact that they have brown rice. The fresh spring rolls with tofu were some of the best I've had and the lemongrass chicken was superb. Like I said in the title of this review - great food. Oh yeah, and the prices are also great. Planning on going back and trying to pho.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Vietnamese place”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I eat here almost every few weeks and each time I am amazed by the quality of food and the service. I always get the pho and the banh mi (Vietnamese sandwich). The lady that works the front is always extremely helpful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suleimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
275 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Out of My Comfort Zone”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

On a whim I stopped at Basil Leaf to try their food. Totally NOT familiar with Vietnamese food but was very pleasantly surprised. Looking at the menu even with good descriptions I didn't know what was what but the lady was most helpful offering assistance with any questions I had. I settled on what was lemongrass chicken spiced medium...it was so so good!!! We laughed as she said the name of it three or four times for me...but I will stick with lemongrass chicken. I was there at an odd time for a meal and there were only a couple of other tables of diners. One was a birthday celebration and she took them a dessert and everyone sang. Another was a gentleman and his party who were regulars, all very friendly and welcoming. The décor was nice, the interior spacious for what it looked like outside, friendly help and great food. Very glad I stepped out of my comfort zone to have food I couldn't pronounce! Will visit again when in Albuquerque!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trickstersawpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Leaf Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 
Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Basil Leaf Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing