We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center
Ranked #43 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience...”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Albuquerque is a town rich in Spanish history. Stroll the Old Town square, the cultural heart of Albuquerque since its founding in 1706, surrounded by museums, shops, galleries and restaurants. Old Town is a quick 15 minute drive via Interstate 25 from this hotel.

LOCATION: Conveniently located one block east of I-25 and next door to the Cracker Barrel restaurant. You’ll find a Target store just up the street for those items you forgot to pack.

SAFETY: Property is well-lit and feels reasonably safe. Keep in mind you are next to the interstate and next to a popular travel restaurant, thus there is a high degree of transient traffic.

PROPERTY: Fresh, clean, safe and above average. Even the most discerning travelers will find it easy to relax in front of the fireplace.

STAFF: It doesn’t get any better than the staff at this property. Hotel leadership is to be commended for ensuring the customer experience is the right one.

ROOMS: Fresh, clean, safe and well-appointed. Beds were above average and the rooms appear to be well-insulated for sound.

RESTAURANT: I ordered room service on a Saturday evening and found the experience to exceed my expectations. Food arrived piping hot and the quality was above average. As a matter of fact, it was the best room service meal I’ve had in a very long time.

OVERALL: Staff are universally wonderful and appear genuinely interested in your comfort. Everything about this property is as it should be. We appreciate their attention to detail and can’t wait to return to this 5 star property. This property receives our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanceWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that not only did you enjoy your stay with us, but that you were also able to experience some of what makes Albuquerque a charming destination. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write such a well-rounded review. We look forward to your next visit to beautiful Albuquerque and the Hilton Garden Inn-Journal Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    100
    49
    29
    20
See reviews for
118
71
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great Hotel.. staff is awesome.. clean rooms.. easy access to the freeways.. I was in ABQ due to a family illness, the staff asked everyday how my mother was doing. They really make you feel welcome and really care about their guest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkerzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Whether staying with us for Business, or to visit family, we strive to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

As you walk into the lobby it is organized and clean. The front desk person welcomes you and are very friendly. Rooms are clean and inviting.Warm cookies are availabe during the evening check in and in the morning coffee is ready.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found our Staff and guest rooms to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a better than average Hilton Garden Inn. The staff are friendly and make great efforts to keep their guests satisfied: they were even able to get me a set of headphones for my workout when I'd forgotten mine at home. The warm cookie happy hour made the stay delicious. The rooms are clean and well-appointed - very much up to HGI standard. Only complaint - the gym is kept at 85degrees! Way too hot for comfort!!! Other than that, I loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Shoot for a room that faces the back parking lot on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmk191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our warm cookies in the evening. We are very happy to have earphones available for our guests at the Front Desk, as you were able to take advantage of. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have stayed at thsi hotel several times. I am always extremely happy wiht the experience. As a Hilton Honors Diamond memeber for several years, it is nice when a hotel stands out amidst the many of this same brand I frequent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janamac12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to see that you enjoy our Garden Sleep System Beds. WE look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This HGI is about 5 miles from Albuquerque old town, but located near Interstate 25.

A very pleasant hotel, quiet, clean, comfortable, nice breakfast and next door to Cracker Barrel.

2 Exits from Fiesta Ground at time of Balloon Fiesta in October, a good place to stay at.

What Else ?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you during your stay. Thanks again for your kind words and we really hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Michelle Mombleau
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here recently for the Balloon fiesta and it was a very convenient location to the park. The hotel is clean, the staff is great (the kitchen manager got us breakfast burritos at 5AM when we were going to see the balloons) and it was an enjoyable stay. That said, I've stayed at lots of other HGI hotels and for whatever reason, this one just has poor sound insulation between the rooms. I don't know if it's a different construction or what, but spoken (not loud) conversations were somewhat audible in the adjoining rooms and footsteps above us sounded very loud. We were trying to get to bed early and normally thing would have been settled down later, but it wasn't a great night's sleep...

Room Tip: No "bad" rooms per se - hotel is set back from the freeway so no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for providing your review of your stay with us. We are very glad that you experienced an exceptional level of customer service from our staff and hoped you enjoyed the balloon festival! While this part of your stay was great, we apologize that you did not get a great night’s sleep due to noise levels. This is an area we will actively examine to make sure all guest have a great stay. Thank you again.                  
 
 
Tracie L. Jernigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Albuquerque
Comfort Suites Albuquerque
#27 of 144 in Albuquerque
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Albuquerque Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albuquerque Marriott Pyramid North
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Albuquerque
Courtyard Albuquerque
#60 of 144 in Albuquerque
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center
Address: 5320 San Antonio Dr NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109-4157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#38 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque/Journal Center hotel is located in the north end of Albuquerque, New Mexico and adjacent to the Albuquerque Journal Center Business District. This Albuquerque, NM hotel is north of downtown and only 15 minutes from the airport and the city of Rio Rancho, New Mexico and other things to do in Albuquerque. Available meeting facilities along with free business services make this a great place for your next meeting, reunion or getaway. Whether you're with family or on business, we want to help you start your day off right with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast served in The Garden Grille & Bar(R). Enjoy dinner in The Garden Grille & Bar(R) or if you prefer, order room service. After a long day, enjoy an evening drink in our Lobby Lounge. We also offer complimentary WiFi internet access, and friendly, helpful service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Hotel Albuquerque
Hilton Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing