We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center
Ranked #43 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have to agree with some of the other reviews, the walls were paper thin. We had to come in late at night and it felt like we were sneaking back into the house while living with the parents.
The room was average and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very small.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABQgambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 414 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

Typical GHI, which is not a bad thing. I chose this location to be close to a customer on the north end of Albuquerque. The neighborhood is nothing to write home about. Nice people at the desk. Room doesn't smell like smoke, but the hallway/elevator does.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lapsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was our third stay at this hotel.
They have a very friendly staff and are very helpful in answering questions.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlashVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The staff were friendly, though you had to get their attention at times.
The food, while "cooked to order," was very slow as was the service. I waited for 5 minutes for someone to arrive to scoop out the ready-to-eat/prepared food. By then I gave up and opted for the scarce offerings of yogurt and toast.
The noise from the highway was only audible when large trucks went by. Oddly enough - I was located next to the elevator and never heard it!
The room had a strong airfreshner smell and a moderate smell of smoke despite being a nonsmoking room.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbelTasmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

My wife and I stay at a lot of Hilton family hotels. We like to stay at Hilton Garden Inns, that is until this one. The lady at the reception desk was very nice. We checked in, went to the room to find a very dark colored room and very old and torn carpet. We had reserved a small suite. There was mold around the air conditioner vent and mold on the wall in the suite area. It smelled moldy too. We left.

Someone has written a glowing review on this place. They must be the owner or have never stayed anywhere nice. My advice.... go somewhere else. Nasty.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron43e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

This was a wonderful and relaxing hotel. It was perfect -clean, everything thought of, great food, really comfortable bed, quiet, easy to get to, perfect employees. We did not want to leave and will for sure go there in the future. The best part was that the price was so reasonable it was such a delight to find this hotel.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank goldenbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

This hotel allows smoking in the rooms, even on the fourth floor, which, I was advised, is non-smoking. I arrived late the first night and went straight to bed, for a two night stay while on business. The second day, about 2 p.m., I returned and there was a strong odor of smoke in the hallways of the fourth floor. I complained to the front desk and they just said that people were allowed to smoke in their rooms. I went out to do a photo shoot and on my return found a very strong cigarette smoke smell. I called Hilton as I am a Diamond VIP Level member and with a call to their corporate office moved me to an adjacent Homewood Inn. The front desk staff were completely indifferent in the face of my complaint that if the doors are closed to the smoking rooms, smoke would likely find it way into my room. It did. I ultimately got a full refund for my night there by the front staff. That was fine but it has now caused me to completely question how Hilton Garden Inn's handle their "smoking policy" ... I've never run into this problem in a Hilton before.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Comfort Suites Albuquerque
#27 of 143 in Albuquerque
313 reviews
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunport
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport
Residence Inn Albuquerque North
#62 of 143 in Albuquerque
175 reviews
Courtyard Albuquerque
#65 of 143 in Albuquerque
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center

Address: 5320 San Antonio Dr NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109-4157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#38 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $89 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque/Journal Center hotel is located in the north end of Albuquerque, New Mexico and adjacent to the Albuquerque Journal Center Business District. This Albuquerque, NM hotel is north of downtown and only 15 minutes from the airport and the city of Rio Rancho, New Mexico and other things to do in Albuquerque. Available meeting facilities along with free business services make this a great place for your next meeting, reunion or getaway. Whether you're with family or on business, we want to help you start your day off right with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast served in The Garden Grille & Bar(R). Enjoy dinner in The Garden Grille & Bar(R) or if you prefer, order room service. After a long day, enjoy an evening drink in our Lobby Lounge. We also offer complimentary WiFi internet access, and friendly, helpful service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Hotel Albuquerque
Hilton Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing