We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center
Ranked #50 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta is very popular and draws a large number of tourists such as ourselves to the area. This is why we booked our room back in January 2013 for our stay this past week (October 4-8 2013).

We booked our room for $99.00/night. That is the rate offered to us by their web site (I have the original booking email confirmation).

Three weeks before we were to depart from Alaska on a trip planned well in advance, I received another email confirmation from Homewood Suites with a new rate of $179.00/night.

I called to clear up the mix-up and was immediately connected with the manager. He stated that there were about 10 people who were given an incorrect rate, but all of us were going to have to pay the much higher rate.

He was able to give us the $99 rate for our last night (as the fiesta was finishing), but we would have to pay the higher rate on the other nights.

He stated that he would be happy to cancel my reservation if I thought I could find another room in Albuquerque during the fiesta at this point.

They had us. He was correct.

So, we could cancel our vacation plans entirely, or pay up.

We paid.

We won't be back.

I've never before encountered this in the travel industry. When someone gets a good deal (be it hotel rooms or airline tickets), whether or not the price was a mistake, it's always honored.

Room Tip: Beware of bait and switch room pricing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskaMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Keeper_NM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

I do share your concern about this unexpected glitch in our reservation system. During Balloon Fiesta our room rates were commensurate to other first-rate hotels in the area. But at no time did we ever mislead our valued guests (as was insinuated). Thanks for your understanding and continued loyalty.

At our hotel guests can enjoy lots of great amenities, including free hot breakfast, fully-equipped kitchens, free Wi-Fi powered by AT&T, and free evening manager’s reception. I regret not earning a better score from you when my staff went above and beyond to ensure your total satisfaction.

Kind Regards,

Gabriel Ruiz
General Manager
(505)998-4663 x401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 383 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time visitor to area; came for Balloon Fiesta. Location is off highway, no noise. Can see balloons from there. Clean and spacious. Plenty of parking. Stayed 6 nights. Great breakfast provided each morning and great dinner each week night. Fresh food and extremely clean and neat. Room cleaned nicely and every staff member we met spoke to us and asked if we needed anything. Pool is small but clean. Mix up on billing but fixed, with apologies,when I questioned it.
would book again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor (3) city side to see balloons. Other side is mountains. Room 324 has 2 queens beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler567J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Keeper_NM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner choices, the quietness around the hotel, and most especially the location, the cleanliness and comfort that our hotel gave you. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We made a quick trip to ABQ for the balloon fiesta and the Biking Bad tour and booked the Homewood Suites by Hilton ABQ/Journal Center last minute. We were very lucky they still had a suite available but also concerned because everything else was no vacancy. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in and were greeted with friendly staff and a stylish, clean lobby and suite. When we got up at 3:45 am to go to the balloon fiesta we were treated with morning goodie bags since we would be missing breakfast. The location right next to I-25 was perfect. A check out time of noon made it possible for us to nap before our cycling tour and the bed was super comfy; linens smelled fresh and the bathroom was super clean and roomy. Overall a great experience. We would've stayed longer if possible and I would absolutely recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_Keeper_NM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. We are pleased to know that you find our location convenient. Providing comfort and enjoyable accommodation is one of our hotel's goal. We are committed to delivering the the highest level of service to our guests, and we will do our best to maintain our services. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very good design of the suite. Personnel outstanding kindness. Complementary Breakfasts and afternoon dinners are awsome. All in one for those who come visit or for business in ABQ, NM at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Amar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

24 senior golfers were inconvenienced during most of our 9-day stay when the elevator was down. Lugging golf clubs two or three flights of stairs was strenuous. Leaving golf clubs in our car when signs are posted clearly stating they are not responsibe for items stolen from vehicle made us uneasy since we came to golf. Upper management refused to allow staff to make an adjustment to our final stratement for this major inconvenience! We will never stay at another Homewood Suites or make a recommendation to anyone due to their greedy uncaring customer relations policy. The staff working at Homewood Suites were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of Hilton properties and the Homewood Suites chain is quickly becoming a favorite. We requested a crib... it was waiting in the room... I was worried about feeling good about putting our baby in a strange crib, but it was really nice. We brought our own bedding for it (cause that's just how we are)... but I wasn't worried about putting him in it at all. My only qualm is that the down comforter is stained. It's stained where the cover meets and we have to see it... grossed us out and we don't use it. Other than that, this is a nice place... neat... good breakfast... small workout room... nice staff.

Room Tip: Little parking at the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kseim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed in other Homewood Suites and this one measures up in every way even though it is the smallest location we have visited. The hotel is located very close to my family in Albuquerque and just far enough off the freeway to be quiet. I requested a quiet room and they put us almost at the very back of the hotel which backs up to an empty field, bike path and arroyo. The Cracker Barrel is two doors down if you need somewhere to eat. We were there over the weekend so missed out on the dinners but the breakfast was great (I did miss having a waffle maker) And the breakfast staff was wonderful (Paty and Ana)!!! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203, a king studio. It was perfect for our needs but may be a bit tight for others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque / Journal Center
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Albuquerque
Courtyard Albuquerque
#62 of 143 in Albuquerque
244 reviews
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albuquerque North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Albuquerque
Comfort Suites Albuquerque
#28 of 143 in Albuquerque
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW
1.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albuquerque North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center

Address: 5400 San Antonio Dr NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109-4150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#28 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $94 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Albuquerque - Journal Hotel Albuquerque
Homewood Suites Albuquerque
Homewood Albuquerque
Hilton Albuquerque
Homewood Suites Journal Center
Albuquerque Homewood Suites
Albuquerque Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing