We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Enjoyable Motel in Heart of Albuquerque”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Ranked #25 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Murphy, TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quaint Enjoyable Motel in Heart of Albuquerque”
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My wife found this small Eurpoean style motel searching the web. We were attracted by it being totally non-smoking. What we were not expecting was a friendly helpful host, a wonderful pool and beautifully southwestern deocrated room. The room is a bit small, but the bed was comfortable and the microfridge. The location is marvelous: you can walk to Old Town and it is very easy to access I-40. We will definitely stay here again when in Alburquerque.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revdrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    161
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
104
236
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Gustav and his wife maintain this Route 66 motel with tender loving care. The motel is pristine clean and very close to Old Town. My husband and I spent 4 nights late in May and were very happy we chose this as our spot. The price and location were awesome. If you are looking for frills and a fancy lobby, this place will not be for you. If you are looking for a clean room with fresh sheets daily near the Old Town area then go to Gustav's place. He takes pride in his motel. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhatChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

If you are a fan of big box hotels, you won't like this place. It was built when the world traveled by car and travelers just needed a place to stay for the night. The rooms were spacious and clean, assigned parking was just outside your door, the guest laundry and pool were just steps away. As was Old Town shopping and dining and the trolley. I strongly recommend a trolley tour of the area first http://www.abqtrolley.com/ or possibly a Segway tour. http://segwaynm.com/ . This is a great hotel to use as a base while you explore the area, reasonably priced and easy to get to.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quiltbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We based our selection of this hotel on the reviews. Yes, it may not in the best section of town and yes, it is dated BUT what do you want for the really great price? We travelled around New Mexico for a week and stayed at more expensive hotels but we have fond memories of the place and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrappy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

The motel is in an excellent location just across a busy highway – Route 66, no less! – from the “Old Town” of Albuquerque, which rather cheatingly seems to have been mainly built during the 1960s. The Old Town is very attractive with some good restaurants, history museum and a relaxing central square. It’s also only a short walk to the banks of Rio Grande, where unfortunately hungry mosquitoes camp out in droves. Downtown is walkable too in just 30 minutes, although there’s also a good bus service.

The room was pleasant but basically dark all day with just one small window and wi-fi was variable. As a comparatively old hand at visiting the USA I was as usual well-stocked with quarters and one dollar bills, but was amazed to see that on a very thirsty day the soda machines took “dimes only”! Some sort of historical oddity? Unfortunately, I didn’t find reception very helpful or friendly when I made a couple of queries.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on our 3 week trip of Route 66. This was a rest day for the bicycle riders in our group (riding from Santa Monica to Stroud, Oklahoma). My sister and I are driving the support vehicle which is pulling a 6' x 10' trailer. We pulled into the back of the hotel and walked over to see where to park. We were greated warmly by the husband and wife team and given a large area in the back to park. After we checked in, we went to our rooms. They were so incredibily neat and clean, every detail taken care of. This is a very charming motel and a lovely place to stay. It is walking distant from Old Town Albuquerque where we walked to for meals. The laundry room and vending/ice area are also extremely clean and set up perfectly for convienence for travelers. We have stayed in a lot of the chain motels on this trip and this was a wonderful change. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

The owners were very nice, contrary to other reviews written about this place. Old style court motel but updated very nicely. Walking distance to Old Town. Clean and moderately priced. We were originally only booked for 2 nights, but went back again later in our trip.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aitch51Ashland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
#3 of 13 in Albuquerque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
#6 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Property: Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelsClick so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing