We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great 50s retro hotel for Route 66 travellers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Ranked #17 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great 50s retro hotel for Route 66 travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great little hotel very clean large rooms well maintained pool for a dip after a long day of travel. Within walking distance of old plaza, fun restaurants and drug store if you need anything. There is also a very large interesting supermarket called the ranch I think great singing and dancing checkout chicks! Fun place to shop.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendastarr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    158
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
98
230
64
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for one night during our Route 66 road trip. It is conveniently located on Route 66 which is a definite bonus.

It was a lovely motel which had everything that we needed. We had a room with two double beds so it was a decent size for us. The pool was nice and they provided pool towels for guests use, we were the only ones using it which was good.

We were provided with a map of the area when we checked in and were told where the Old Town was and provided with recommendations of places to eat which we found helpful.

We believe that the hotel was definite value for money and we would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We discovered this place 20 years ago and will not stay anywhere else when visiting the Duke City. Henry and Bo run a tight ship, and they do it with pride. The place is immaculate. We love the Route 66 charm and the proximity to Old Town. Our travel plans would only allow us to stay one night, but we'd have stayed longer if we could. We highly recommend this motel and always enjoy our stays there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

An old Route 66 motel, well kept and spotlessly clean. Has amenities many of the vintage motels do not, like ice and a guest laundry. Convenient to Old Town and a plethora of restaurants. No breakfast, but coffee, tea, and cookies were left in the room for us. Located right on a busy highway, but we were never bothered by the noise. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingfromDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

A great place to stay! Completely renovated, updated, clean Route 66 motel....owned by an Eastern European couple, impeccably maintained. They are eager to accommodate, easy to talk to. A full-size pool is clean and inviting. Full-service laundry machines are readily available. This motel is easy walking distance to Old Town Albuquerque. Plenty of restaurants and shopping there. We have stayed here often, the ONLY place we ever stay in Albuquerque! My most recent stay was because of an emergency medical situation--the owners were happy to oblige, kept the room for me on an extended basis, cared about the patient's progress, made sure I was safe in the room each night, checked on me often.

Room Tip: Room 9 is the back corner, across from the pool..one bed...quietest room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We are traveling from Chicago to LA via Route 66 and wanted to stay in hotels originally built for The Mother Road. This one came highly recommended so we decided to give it a try. Gustav was very firm that rooms were for non-smokers, no pets were permitted and swimmers must wear shoes when walking to the pool. This all sounded very reasonable to us. We stayed in room 15 and were able to park in front of our door. The room had received updates which made for a pleasant stay. The room included digital TV, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board, wifi and a writing desk. We really enjoyed the well kept swimming pool. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alaska_Railroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

When bragging about the motel to the owner, Henry, he said "thank you, it's my 'baby'." You can tell. The room were IMMACULATE and the grounds were more than clean... They were "loved". Just a quick walk to Old Town. It was a highlight of our Rt. 66 trip.

Room Tip: Request a room off the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellieDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#12 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#15 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#4 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#11 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Property: Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing