We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, friendly staff, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Eagle Mountain, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean room, friendly staff, great value”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here on a road trip across Route 66, and I'm so happy we did! The owners were so nice, gave us lots of ideas for things to do during the day we were there. It's within walking distance of Old Town, which was convenient for grabbing some native food. The room was very clean, and we didn't have any problems with noise. Highly recommend for anyone passing through Albuquerque.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    160
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
102
235
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a very clean and comfortable place. The owners are very friendly and only to pleased to help. The motel is in easy walking distance to the Historic "Old Town" Albuquerque where there are plenty of interesting this to do and see and places to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was the best of the best budget Route 66 motels we stayed in on our road trip. We stayed for two nights and Henry was delightful. The room was super clean. We were able to do laundry. The pool wasn't open so can't comment on that. Within walking distance of Old Town and Henry recommended a couple of super eateries. Don't miss this great deal, budget gem!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonaHtheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed in this motel for one night while passing through town. Chose the motel because on-line reviews were so good and price was right. It was exactly what everyone said. Clean, out-dated, friendly owners with good food recommendations. We even got to meet the watchdog Victor. Location is good for walking down the street to Old Town or to the Botanical
Garden. I think it would have felt a little small if we were there more than one or two nights but I'd stay here again for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricS1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We arrived late but we greeted with smiles and lots of advice. We parked and got settled. I did enjoy the feel of the "times gone by" vibe. The beds were not super comfortable though and the sheets, while cute, were very rough for my daughters and me. We ended up getting a blanket out of the car so the sheets wouldn't irritate us. The toiletries are nice though and the aquarium is across the street.

Room Tip: We were close to the street and I was surprised that the we didn't hear the traffic. I had read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Monterey motel reminded me of traveling with my parents on Route 66 in the 1950s. It is a motor court with parking outside the door. The motel is in a great location only a couple of blocks from Old Town. It was rather 1950s America crossed with Poland. The bed sheets with large blue dots and a health bar from Poland next to the Saran Wrap covered drinking glasses was a bit dissonant but charming. Do watch for traffic crossing the road. I was tapped by a motorist while crossing at the crosswalk on a cross signal

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jdkegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
276 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

After reading the mostly 5 star reviews of this motel I decided to take the plunge and spend a night there. It couldn't possibly be as good as the reviews said, could it?
Yes!
Spotlessly clean. And I mean Clean. No odors either. Comfy beds. Nice shower. And the owners Paul and Bo with assistance from Victor, were priceless.
My single only complaint...the impossible to comprehend TV remote. We spent 1/2 hour each time we turned the TV on just trying to get a picture and sound. Perhaps an instruction sheet is needed here.
We never heard a sound from adjoining rooms all night either. However there was no hot water in the morning due to the showers being taken. It did heat back up around 9 or so though.
Give this place a try and don't even think of going here if you smoke, and bring your stink in with you! They will not rent to you.

Room Tip: Back end of units are further away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
716 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,635 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
#3 of 13 in Albuquerque
397 reviews
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
#4 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Property: Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing