We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Henry has mellowed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Ranked #25 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Henry has mellowed”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed here for the first time five years ago. Our main reason was the cost and close proximity to Old Town. For the most part, things went well during that visit, but we were a little surprised to find the place locked at 4 pm when we tried to check in. Also, the laundry was locked until I asked to have it opened.

During our recent stay, we showed up about 5:30 PM and the door was unlocked and Henry remembered us! I found him to be much more relaxed this time.

Although there are still some run-down places nearby, the area seems greatly improved in terms of urban blight over the past five years.

  • Liked — proximity to Old Town, pool
  • Disliked — traffic
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DRKellogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    161
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
104
236
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

For a middle-aged traveler looking for something different, this place was ideal. Room was clean and affordable, place had a quaint, route 66 retro-vibe, easy 2 block walk to old town, convenient to bus service for easy access to all of albuquerque.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank topgrantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

The Best! Certainly the best value for money on our trip!

Once you survive the interview with the Polish owner regarding smoking and pets, the rooms are all you could want. Clean, fresh, well appointed. There is a pool, laundry, microwave, and excellent air conditioning in the room.

We loved the bushes and flowers growing outside our room.

If we ever come back to Albuquerque - this is definitely the place we would stay.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed here based on my memory of reviews here on tripadvisor. We were tired, and even though we could have stayed at many other places in Albuquerque for less money with the coupons from the welcome centre, we decided to stay here. The rating is based on the value to money that we experienced in my opinion.

The room was very clean and with relatively new furnishings and carpet. I was surprised that there was a strong scent in the room when we first entered (I have asthma and often have a reaction to the room sprays that hotels use). Thankfully I didn't have a reaction and the scent quickly disappeared. The fridge was handy to have. I loved that we parked right in front of the room and bringing the bags in and out was a breeze. The gardens around the rooms and pool area were beautiful, with many of them including the roses being in bloom.

The pool area was very nice. The pool was a bit cool (not horribly so) and I went to look at the thermometer. When I was looking at it the lady of the hotel said it was broken, and she knows her husband sets the pool heat to I think 85 degrees. This is my main complaint. Not that the pool was cool (as I said it wasn't too bad) but that I think she wasn't telling the truth. There is no way the pool was 85, and as far as the thermometer being broken, it showed a lower temperature for the pool in the morning, which made sense since it got quite cool at night. The thermometer seemed to be about right with my experience with swimming. I didn't complain to the management about the pool temperature, and never would have. But I didn't like that I think she was dishonest with me.

Overall, we did enjoy our one night stay here. It is very handy to the old town section.

However, I probably wouldn't stay here again based mostly on price. I travel on a tight budget, and would stay elsewhere for less money in the future. If you're looking for the Route 66 experience thing though, it's certainly a nice clean place. The area seemed nice enough to us.

  • Liked — parking right in front of our room
  • Disliked — being told the pool was heated to 85, when we don't believe it was
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ktowntravllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

This is a classic Route 66 motel, very well-maintained and with a few interesting surprises.

If you're expecting the Hyatt, stop now. That's a different experience. The rooms are decorated in Midcentury Mishmosh, there's no room service, and it's right on Central Avenue.

But I stayed here for five nights on a personal writing vacation, and had a wonderful time. To start with, they are careful about guests, so it was blissfully quiet both day and night. The rooms are immaculate -- I could have used my room for an operating theater. The bathroom was very impressive: clean, new-ish, no grotty grout, and nice and big. The pool is surprisingly large for a motel, and again, is wonderfully clean. Everything worked, and if you've ever spent a vacation asking for new lightbulbs or TV repairpeople or remote-control batteries, you know what I mean.

Plus when I needed breaks I just popped in my car and went to Old Town. Not only that, but right next door is Casa Grande, which doesn't look like much on the outside but inside is a marvelous New Mexican restaurant, perfect for lunch.

After my first night I asked if I could move to a room toward the back, because I had heard a tiny bit of road noise (though it didn't keep me up), and they explained that because I had specified wifi in my reservation, they had given me the best room for wifi reception. I was very impressed that they were so attentive to my needs.

For such a long stay, the fridge was a real plus.

Regarding the host and hostess, the "Mr." on the property is a little grumpy, but the "Mrs." isn't. (Gustav, the dachsund, is a cranky old fellow, but sweet in his own right.)

I would definitely stay here again. It was a relaxing, replenishing stay, and I felt safe and well-cared-for.

  • Liked — Clean, safe place with Route 66 charm
  • Disliked — Central Avenue a little too close
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kgschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
203 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

This was like opening a door to the past. On numerous 1950's era road trips with my family, we stayed in countless rooms just like those at the Monterey. It was like finding an old pair of shoes in the back of the closet and remembering the dance you wore them to.

It is clean, comfortable, quiet, convenient to Old Town, and you can't beat the price. The owner handles all the business in a very perfunctory manner, but ask him a question, any question, and he is very helpful.

I am not sure I would want to spend a whole vacation here, but, just like it was in 50's, Monterey is a perfectly good place to spend a couple of nights while you are on the road.

  • Liked — Free internet, convenient location, nostalgic atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oscar505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

This is one of the nicest "old" hotels. It is exceptionally clean, the rooms are very large and roomy, it is close to downtown in a nice neighborhood, and the rooms have all the modern amenities that you need. The service, however, was not what I was expecting. If "European hospitality" means rude and abrasive then it lives up to the advertising, otherwise... That being said I would definitely recommend it...just don't ask for extra towels.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Not very friendly
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WacoMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
#3 of 13 in Albuquerque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
#6 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Non-Smokers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Non-Smokers Motel

Property: Monterey Non-Smokers Motel
Address: 2402 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Non-Smokers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Monterey Non-Smokers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel Albuquerque
Monterey Non Smokers Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing